Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 9, 2014

Roshan of JKP bags Dansal Kesari Dangal title

State Times

JAMMU: Roshan Lal of Jammu and Kashmir Police (JKP) lifted the 27th Annual Dansal Kesari Dangal title defeating Farooq of Sarore in a close contest that lasted for 23 minutes at Dansal.
Dangal was organised by the Dansal Dangal Committee under the overall supervision of President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Payara Lal Sharma as also Sarpanch Balwan Singh.
Principal Convent School Dansal, Bijo Mathew was Chief Guest who distributed cash prizes among the winners and runner-up wrestlers of different bouts. Sarpanch Angrej Singh and Sarpanch Mohammad Sadiq were Guests of Honour. Inspector Kewal Krishan, President Chak Morh Dangal Committee, Satish Kumar, Sarpanch Balwan Singh and Naib Sarpanch, Sudesh Kumar were also present.
Dansal Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped for conduct of this Dangal were Mohamad Saleem, Rattan Lal Raina, Romesh Chander, Madu, Balwan Singh, Yog Raj, Devi Dass, Suresh Kumar, Durga Dass Raina, Bittu Kumar, Vicky Thakur, Sham Lal, Vikas Sharma, Vijay Kumar, Vicky Seth, Tulinder Kumar, Vjay Singh (Viju), and Rajinder Kumar Ramotra.
Earlier, Chief Guest gave away Rs 4,000 cash prize to winner of main bout, Roshan Lal while Rs. 3,000 were presented to Farooq. In all 45 bouts were played in the one day long Dangal.
Other Results: Jakker of Sarore beat Dillar Khan of J and K Police; Bobari of Sarore drew against Akram of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu; Ravi of Domana Akhara defeated Anayat of Manwal, Subash of Udhampur outplayed Asraf of Domana Akhara; Anil Kumar (Mahanu) of J and K Police trounced Rajat of Punjab; Jakker (Billu) of Jindrah blanked Romesh of Power House Udhampur; Man Hussian of Domana Akhara downed Vijay of Bai Bajaltha; Dinu of Domana Akhara beat Rajvinder of Haryana; Yashar of Manwal defeated Sunil of Udhampur; Bagga of Amritsar beat Salman of Roun-Domail; Munnir Khan of Domana Akhara defeated Baboo of Jindrah. Bouts between Arif of Manwal and Jamat Ali of Domana, Bittu of Delhi and Amir Khan of Nargada, Trithu of Manwal and Mustaq of Samba, Rajesh Sharma of J and K Police and Javed Khan of Nargada and Lallu of Bajarangi Akhara and Gopal Sharma ended in draw.

No comments: