Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Feb 26, 2015

Wrestler Ajay of Udhampur Lifts 5th Bhagtha Kesari Tittle

The Northlines
Katra, February 23: Wrestler Ajay Kumar of Landen Power House Udhampur lifted “5th Bhagtha Kesari Tittle 2015” by defeating Wrestler Amir Khan of Nargada in Jammu of Bajrangi Akhara (Jammu And Kashmir Kesari 2013) in a neck to neck contest that lasted for 09 minutes at Village Bhagtha near Railway Track in Tehsil Katra of District Reasi. Dangal was organized by J&K Indian Style wrestling association in collaboration with Peer Baba Jakh Devta Dangal Committee Bhagtha under the overall supervision of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association Shiv Kumar Sharma and President Bhagtha Dangal Committee Sat Paul Singh. Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association of India who is also President Senior Citizens Welfare Forum Katra Shiv Kumar Sharma was the chief guest on the event, who gave away the cash prizes to the winners and runner-up Wrestlers. Manager Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board Katra Shri Vakeel Singh presided over the function. District Reasi General Secretary Indian Style Wrestling Association (Pappu Lakri) and District Udhampur Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association Satish Kumar and Sarpanch Chamba Sham Singh were the guests of honour. Chief guest Shiv Kumar Sharma presented Rs 3,500/- as cash prize to the winner of Ist malli, Ajay along with “Maa Ki Chunni,” while Rs 2,500/- was given-up Wrestler Amir Khan by Manager SMVDSB Katra Vakeel Singh and Sat Paul Singh (President Bhagtha Dangal Committee). In all 31 bouts were played in the one day long dangal. Second main bout was fought between Wrestler Nisar Ahmed of Doda of J&K Police and Wrestler Lallu of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu. This bout ended in draw that lasted for 31 minutes and both the Wrestlers were jointly presented Rs 5,500/-. Third bout was won by Wrestler Bobari of Sarore who defeated Dillar Khan of J&K Police. Cash prize of Rs 3,000/- was given to winner Bobari while runner-up Wrestler Dillar Khan got Rs 2,000/-. 4th bout was won by Murad Ali of Domana Akhara Jammu by defeating Rajesh Sharma of J&K Police of Jindrah. Peer Baba Jakh Devta Dangal Committee and technical officials who helped of the conduct of Dangal included Sat Paul Singh (President), Tehsildar Gopal Singh, Vakeel Singh (Manager SMVDSB), Sham Singh (Sarpanch), Ram Chand (Numberdar), Ram Singh, Jagdev Singh, Angrej Singh, Rattan Singh, Ravi Kumar, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Vijay Singh (Viju), Mohd. Fareed, Tulinder Kumar & Murli Dhar (Munna). Other Result: - Laikat Ali beat Vijay, Akram beat Gopal Sharma, Dinu beat yeshbir Fouegi, Salman beat Sujjan Ali, Muneer Khan beat Teg Singh, Daleep Singh beat Baboo, Salman Khan beat Sanjay, Jagdev Singh beat Yashar Mustaq beat Subash, ranjeet Singh beat Pritam Singh, Shamsher Sigh beat Shabir, Rustam Choudhary beat Anil, Karnail Singh beat Manjoor, Shubham beat Sunil and Farooq beat Bobby. Mr. Shiv Kumar Sharma speaking on the occasion urged the State Government Sports Council and Youth Services & Sports Department that the sports infrastructure in the State is upgraded to accelerate the activities of Youth Welfare & Sports Department for promotion of the talent in the rural area in a high way. Asserting that the budding Wrestlers should refine their talent & bring it on proper platform for further upgradition, Mr. Sharma advised the local youth to participate in sports activities, adding that such type of activities keep the youth physically and mentally fit. Mr. Sharma today urged the State Government and Sports Council to provide necessary infrastructure for the promotion of talented Wrestlers to take part at National International level.

No comments: