Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 25, 2011

Benia of J&K Lifts Fadya Kesari Dangal

JammuKashmir Newspoint
Wrestler Benia of Basantgarh in district Udhampur clinched the 43rd Annual Fadya Kesari Dangal title which was organized by Fadya Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. In the main bout, Benia trounced Kuldeep Khundu of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi to become rich by Rs 8000 while runners-up, Kuldeep was given away Rs 7,000 as cash prize by chief guest, president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma.
The second main bout was won by Somveer of Lala Ram Akhara Delhi beating Sukha of Rajasthan. While Somveer given away Rs 6,000, Sukha received Rs 5000 as cash prize. Third main bout went to wrestler Raju of Sirsa, who downed Anuj of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi while Jaswant of Rajasthan won the four bout outplaying Sandeep of Lala Ram Akhara Delhi.
In the final bouts, working president of district Reasi unit of the Association, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) and District Udhampur Horticulture officer, Virender Kumar Sharma were guests of honour. Sarpanch Sham Lal Sharma, Sarpanch Bhart Singh, Sarpanch Ram Parkash and Bashir Ahmed of Bamyal were also present on the occasion.
Members of organizing committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of dangal were Sarpanch Sham Lal Sharma, Bishan Dass, Rattan Lal, Suraj Din, Rehmat Ali, Sonu, Ram Singh, Lal Singh, Gulam Hussian, Jagir Singh, Manjoor Hussian, Rakesh Kumar, Kallu Ram, Mohd. Fareed, Papu Lakri, Virender Kumar Sharma and Nazir Hussian. Other Results: In other bouts, Anuj of Delhi beat Sadiq of Jammu; Anwar of Nargada beat Jagdev of Reasi; Gurdev Singh of Devi Garh beat Mustaq Ahmed of Raipur; Netar Ali of Nargada beat Mustaq Ali of Chibba. Bouts between Makhan Singh of Nargada and Nazir Ali of Nargada and Bittu of Nargada and Pawan Singh of Reasi ended in draw.

No comments: