Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 5, 2013

Johnny-Benia share Mahadev Dangal title

JAMMU: Bharat Kesari and National Games gold medal winner, Johnny Choudhary of Himachal Pradesh and Liaqat Ali of Panthal in J and K shared the Annual Mahadev Kesari Dangal title after 31-minute long fight for the main bout between them ended in a draw.
Both these wrestlers shared Rs 21,000 cash prize which was presented by Chief Guest, General Manager of NHPC Salal, Chander Mohan. This Dangal was organised by Mahadev Dangal Committee Reasi in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided while Tehsildar Reasi, Munshi Ram, Dr R.P Singh, R.K Chowhan and Padam Dev Singh were Guests of Honour.
Second main bout between Major of Dera Baba Nanak in Punjab and Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhalwal again remained undecided resulting into both awarded with Rs 6,000 cash prize.
Liaqat lifts Salal Kesari title
Meanwhile, in another Dangal of District Reasi, Liakat Ali of Panthal outplayed Balwan Singh of Mahore winning Rs 7,000 cash prize. Runners-up, Balwan got Rs 4,000 prize from the organisers.
Other Results: Baloo of Gurdaspur beat Murad Ali of Domana; Devinder of Domana defeated Raju of Kapurthala; Bittu of Delhi beat Prem Verma of Jhiri; Bagga of Kot Bhalwal outplayed Amir Khan of Bajarangi Akhara Jammu; Gopal Sharma of Jindrah beat Billu of Kotbhalwal; Nasar Ahmed of Doda beat Vijay of Bai Bajalta; Deepu of Domana beat Raj Singh of Mahore; Bharat Bushan of Domana beat Puran Singh of Gari Gabber; luckey of Domana beat Kartar Singh of Narkote; bouts between Sadiq of Domana and Rallu of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu ended in a draw.
Members of Organising Committee and technical officials helped in smooth conduct of Dangal.

No comments: