Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jul 6, 2013

Abdul of Punjab bags Rustam-e-Nargada title

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, July 2
Wrestler Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab clinched the 8th Annual Rustam-e-Nargada Dangal title beating Gourav, again of Punjab, in the main bout that took place at village Nargada near here.
Winner of the main bout, Gani awarded a handsome cash prize of Rs 31,000 by chief guest National Conference leader, Noor Ali Dansalia and president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma. Runners-up wrestler, Gourav given away cash prize of Rs 20,000 by former MLA, Shiv Dev Singh and BSP State Secretary, Rakesh Wazir. Chief guest, Noor Ali Dansalia contributed Rs 51,000 for the event.
In all, 43 bouts took place in this day-long dangal which was organised by Nargada Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. The second main bout won by Pamma of Dere Baba Nanak in Punjab after he beat Binda of Kapurthala in Punjab. Third main bout went to Sukha of Rajasthan, who defeated Kamaljeet of Jallander while Suraj of Amritsar clinched the fourth bout beating Abdul Guffar (Bagga) of Mallerkotla.
The MLC Master Noor Hussain, DySP, Zahid Samoon, DySP Rameez
Bhat, SHO Jatinder Sambyal, Retired SP Prithvi Raj Sharma, Prem Choudhary, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Ashok Kumar, Bittu, Alam Din, Bhubishan, Balbir
Singh and Amar Nath were those prominent present.
Members and technical officials who helped in the smooth conduct of this dangal included Choudhary Bagh Hussain, Choudhary Yateem Ali, Ram Dayal, Choudhary Noor Hussain, Choudhary Ghulam Mastaja, Bashir Ahmed, Mumtaz Ahmed, Prem Choudhary, Om Parkash Sharma, Mulkh Raj, Kala, Billa Pahelwan, Allah Mai (Ranga), Santokh Chand , Bittu Raina, Raj Hussian, Mohd. Fareed, Naresh Kumar and Murli Dhar (Munna).
Other Results: Bobari of Sarore beat Happy of Dere Baba Nanak, Jaggi of Jallander beat Roshan Lal of Muthi of J&K Police, Baljeet of Dera Baba Nanak beat Mohd. Sadiq Ali of Domana Akhara, Onkar of BSF of Kathua beat Sona of Amritsar, Anil Kumar (Mohanu) of J&K Police beat Vijay of Bai-Bajaltha, Sat Paul of Sonipat beat Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal Jammu, Bagga of Kot Bhawqal beat Ravinder of Sonipat, Akram of Jammu beat Rahul of Namashar, Lallu of Jammu beat Murad Ali of Domana, Satyanam of Rajasthan beat Amir Khan of Nargada, Billa of Domana Akhara beat Rajbeer of Rajasthan and Gulshan Singh of J&K Police beat Raju of Dera Baba Nanak.

No comments: