Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jul 2, 2011

Wrestler Jagroop of Amritsar Lifts Sirla Bhaga Kesari Dangal Title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

Katra, June 28: Wrestler Jagroop lifted the "51st Annual Sirla Bhaga Kesari Vishal Dangal 2011" being organized by Sirla Bhaga Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association near Government, High School Sirla Bhaga, Reasi.

Wrestler Jagroop of Amritsar defeated Benia of J&K Police in the main bout which lasted for 12 minutes. Jagroop was awarded with cash prize money of Rs. 10,000/- along with traditional Silver Gurj (Gada) and Patta while runner-up wrestler got Rs 10,000/-

The second main bout was fought between Rahul Khundu of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi Patha Maha Singh Rao and Kamljot (Billa) of Khanna in Punjab. Rahul defeated wrestler Kamaljot (Billa), and received Rs. 8,000/- as cash prize while runner-up wrestler got Rs 6,000/-. In the third bout Mantri (National Junior Gold Medalist 2011) defeated wrestler Onkar Singh of BSF of Kathua in 23 minutes. Rs 5,000/- was given to Mantri while Rs 3,000/- was given to runner-up wrestler Onkar.

Fourth bout was won by Malkiat of Amritsar who defeated Babbar of Delhi. 5th bout was won by Billa of Mohali Chandigarh who defeated Manoj of Khanna.

In other bouts, Surinder of Khanna beat Veer Singh of J&K Police, Reasi, Titu of Rajasthan beat Karnail Singh of Narkote, Dalip Singh of Narkote beat Gurdev Singh of Devigarh, Sandeep of Khanna beat Pritam Singh of Reasi, Sukha of Khanna beat Teg Singh of Panara (Reasi), Satyanam of Amritsar beat Prem Verma of Jhiri, Sher Singh of Chandigarh beat Ravinder Singh of Mahore, Jamat Ali of Nargada beat Shamsher Singh of Narkote and Sher Singh of Khanna beat Pawan Kumar.

Tehsildar Reasi Kunal Sharma was the chief guest on the occasion. He distributed cash prizes among the winners and loosers of the Dangal. Member J&K State Sports Council and Treasure Indian Style Wrestling Association of India Shiv Kumar Sharma, Working President District Reasi Indian Style Wrestling Association Naresh Kumar (Papu Lakri) were also present on the occasion.

No comments: