Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Mar 31, 2012

Punjab Wrestler Jagroop Lifts Moori Dangal Title

Early Times Report

JAMMU, Mar 26: Pahalwan Jagroop of Amritsar in Punjab lifts the 57th Annual Moori Kesari title defeating Pahalwan Phalla of Himachal Pradesh in an interesting bout that lasted for 27 minutes at Middle School Moori in district Reasi.

Pahalwan Jagroop was awarded Rs 12,000 cash prize by chief guest, Superintendent of Police Katra, Mohan Lal, who distributed prizes among the winners. Runners-up, Phalla of HP got Rs 10,000 prize. Member J&K State Sports Council and president of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided.

Rakesh Wazir and Virender Kumar Sharma were the guests of honour. Among others present were Papu Lakri, Kuldeep Magotra, Krishan Singh, Sudesh kumar, Pandit Jagdish Kumar and Romesh Chander, SHO Jhajjar Kotli TS Jamwal.

This day-long dangal was organized by Moori Peer Baba Dangal Committee under the aegis of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. In all, 44 bouts were played in the dangal. The second main bout went to Her Nek Singh of Jallandhar, who beat wrestler Sabba of Amritsar. In third main bout, Sukha of Rajasthan emerged winner beating Kamaljot of Khanna. Fourth bout went to Bobari of Jammu after he outplayed Bhola of Khanna.

Another main bout between Kalu of Jammu and Kaka of Amritsar ended in draw. All the winners and runners-up of these bouts were given away handsome cash prizes.Moori Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped for conduct of this vishal dangal included Badri Nath, Sarpanch Romesh Chander, Om Parkash, Mohan Singh, Sukhdev Sharma, Bodh Raj, Parshotam Sharma, Birbal Sharma, Rajinder Kumar, Vijay Singh (Biju), Mohd. Fareed, Raj Singh, Pappu Lakri, P.R Sharma, Virender Kumar Sharma and Ustad Krishan Lal Sharma.

Other Results: Murad Ali of Jammu beat Sarvan of Rajasthan, Johny of Pathankote beat Kuldip of Ladda, Amir Khan of Jammu beat Kaka of Jindrah, Rajinder Fouzi of Udhampur beat Sonu of Jammu, Bushan of Jammu beat Veer Singh of Reasi, Subbu of H.P beat Bagga of Kot Balwal, Atter Din of Jammu beat Munna, Liakat Ali of Panthal beat Kuldip Singh of Ramnagar and Jamit of Nargada beat Ali of Power House Udhamour.

No comments: