Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Oct 20, 2013

Punjab wrestler Kamal lifts Domana Kesari dangal

Early Times
JAMMU, Oct 16: Wrestler Kamal of Jalandhar in Punjab lifted the 11th Annual Domana Kesari dangal, organized by managing committee of Baba Shah Akhara Domana in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Domana, here.
In the main bout, Kamal defeated wrestler Navneet of Akhara Subash Malik in Punjab to be awarded with a cash prize of Rs 18,000. Runners-up, Navneet presented Rs 13,000 as prize money.
President of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma was chief guest in this dangal, who presented cash prizes to the among the winners and runners-up wrestlers. Sarpanch Domana, Shamsher Singh presided over the function.
Treasurer of the Association, P R Sharma was guest of honour while Sarpanch Mumtaj Kahan, Dalbir Singh, Rehmat Ali and Babishan Singh were among other prominent present.
A record 105 bouts took place in this day-long vishal dangal involving an expenditure of Rs 4,45,000. The second main bout won by Kaka of RS Pura, who defeated Jakker of Sarore to win a cash prize of Rs 10,000 while runners-up, Jakker got Rs 7,000. In third bout, Satish of Jalandhar beat Jaswant of Maller Kotla.
Members and technical officials who helped in the successful conduct of this dangal were Sarpanch Domana, Shamsher Singh Naib, Sarpanch Raj Kumar, coach Mohd. Fareed, Satish Singh, Balraj Sharma, Pammi Chib, Bodh Raj Bhagat, Om Parkash Sharma, Mulkh Raj Sharma, PR Sharma, Ramesh Chander, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) and Murli Dhar (Munna).
Other Results: Mohd. Akram of Chouadi bt Jatinder of Patila; Murad Ali of Domana bt Bitta of Delhi; Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhalwal bt Teg Ali of Maller Kotla; Baljeet of Patila bat Bobri of Sarore; Mohd Sadiq of Doman bt Bagga of Atari; Sharat of Atari bt Asif of Bajarangi Akhara Jammu; Akram of Bajarangi Akhara of Jammu bt Deepu of RS Pura; Javed Khan of Nargada bt Vijay of Bai Bajalata; Sujjan Ali of Domana bt Pershotam of Tar Talocha; Maan Hussain of RS Pura bt Rajesh of J&K Police of Jandrah; Likat Ali of Panthal bt Shareif of Domana and Gopal Sharma of Jandrah bt Maan Hussain of Bishnah.

No comments: