Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Nov 9, 2013

Kaka wins Patiri Bishnah Kesari dangal title

State Times

JAMMU: Wrestler Kaka of RS Pura in Jammu District clinched the Seventh Patiri- Bishnah Kesari Dangal which was organised by Patiri- Bishnah Dangal Committee in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association at village Patiri in Tehsil Bishnah.
In the main bout, Kaka defeated Inderjeet of Amritsar in Punjab to receive a cash prize of Rs 7,000. Runners-up, Inderjeet got Rs 4,000 cash prize from Chief Guest, Member Legislative Assembly (MLA), Ashwani Sharma.
President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided while Treasurer, Prithvi Raj Sharma and Block Development Officer, Rakesh Dubey were Guests of Honour.
Sarpanch Surjeet Singh Charak was among other prominent present.
The second main bout won by Jonny of Attari in Punjab beating Lallu of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu to become rich by Rs 5,000. Third bout went to Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhalwal, who defeated Bobari of Sarore while Asaf of Bajrangi Akhara in Jammu secured fourth bout beating Babba of Attari in Punjab. In the fifth bout, Amir Khan of Nargada outplayed Pinda of Amritsar. Shinda of Amritsar beat Murad Ali of Domana Akhara to win the sixth main bout.
Members of Organising Committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of Dangal were Surinder Sharma (President), Girdhari Lal, Ramesh Chander Sharma, Panch Ashok Kumar, Panch Yash Paul Bhagat, Sardari Lal. Joginder Lal Sharma, Master Prem Kumar, Mohammad Fareed, Prem Choudhary and Murli Dhar. In all, 45 bouts took place in this day-long Dangal. Other Results: Tirthu of Manwal beat Suraj of Sunikha, Sujjan Ali of Domana defeated Parshotam Singh of Tar Talocha, Vicky outplayed Suram Singh, Anyat Ali of Manwal trounced Jamat Ali of Jatti, Gopal of Amritsar downed Kashmira of Dinanagar and Mohammad Akram of Chouadi blanked Mukha of Dinanagar.

No comments: