Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 19, 2014

Punjab wrestler Arjun wins Surinsar Dangal

State Times
JAMMU: Wrestler Arjun of Amritsar lifted the 17th Surinsar Kesari Dangal after he defeated Mohammad Akram of Bajrangi Akhara in Jammu in the easy title bout at Surinsar in block Dansal. Dangal, part of ongoing Baisakhi festival, was organised by J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association in collaboration with J and K Tourism Department.
Advisor Tourism Development Corporation and Senior Vice President of Hotel and Restaurant Association of Katra, Rakesh Wazir was Chief Guest, who gave away the prizes to the winners and runners-up wrestlers. President of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided.
Chairman Praytan Vikas Mandal, Ravi Mahajan, President Hotel and Lodges Association of Jammu, Inderjeet Khajuria and Chief Executive Officer of Surinsar, Mansar Development Authority, Ashok Pandita were Guests of Honour.
Tourist Officer, Samba, Jyoti Koul, Prithvi Raj Sharma, Sarpanch Surinsar, Subash Singh Jamwal, Sarpanch Balwant Singh, Sarpanch Krishan Singh, Sarpanch Mohan Singh, and Sarpanch Rehamt Ali were also present. The Chief Guest presented title holder Arjun with cash prize of Rs 4,000 while runners-up, Mohammad Akram got Rs 3,000.
In all, 23 bouts were played in this day-long Dangal. The second main bout was won by Munish of Amritsar beating Bittu of Delhi. Later, Bittu clinched the third main bout outplaying Rohit of Amritsar. The fourth bout went to Sajjad of Udhampur, who beat Chenni of Banaras while Manoj clinched the fifth bout outplaying Inayat of Manwal. Association members and technical officials, who helped in smooth conduct of this Dangal included Bansi Lal Tidyal, Inderjeet Khajuria, Prithvi Raj Sharma, Mulk Raj Sharma, Naresh Kumar, Master Prem Kumar, Varinder Sharma, Sudershan Singh Jamwal, Jagdish Khajuria, Mohan Lal Sharma, Amar Nath, Capt. Krishan Chand, Raju, Deepak Wazir, Om Parkash Kapoor, Murli Dhar (Munna) Vijay Singh (Bijju) and Om Parkash Verma.
Other Results: Sajjad of Udhampur beat Muktyar of Samba, Chenni of Banaras defeated Mohanu of Delhi, Anyat of Manwal outplayed Mustaq of Samba, Chandan of Banaras blanked Shotu of Manwal, Manoj of Banaras downed Kewal of Nargada, Kuldeep of Banaras outplayed Sarif Mohd of Surinsar, Liaqat Ali of Chatha Jammu beat Ajay Kumar of Surinsar, Yasir Khan of Manwal defeated Mashu of Surinsar, Murad Ali of Mansar beat farooq Mohd of Surinsar, Anil of Choprashop (Udhampur) trounced Arif Ahmed of Surinsar, Suneel of Roun Domail defeated Abdul Karim of Surinsar and Ajay of Athem downed Sajjad of Sangnoo.

No comments: