Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 5, 2014

Benia of JKP lifts Moori Kesari dangal title

State Times

JAMMU: Jammu and Kashmir Police wrester, Benia lifted the 59th Annual Moori Kesari Title outplaying Rimpal of Amritsar in Punjab in a tough bout that lasted for 23 minutes at Moori in district Reasi. Dangal was organised by Moori Peer Baba Dangal Committee in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
District Development Commissioner Reasi, Dr Shahid Iqbal Choudhary was the Chief Guest, who distributed cash prizes among the winners and runner-up wrestlers. The Chief Guest, presented Rs 20,000 cash prize to Benia while runners-up Rimpal got Rs 17,000.
Treasurer Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided.
Naib Tehsildar, Rakesh Baru was Guest of Honour. Sarpanchs Balwan Singh, Jagdish Chander, Mohd Sadiq, Rattan Singh Raj Hussain, R.S Manhas, Naresh Kumar and Varinder Sharma were also present.
In all, 58 bouts were played in the Dangal. The second main bout went to Kaka of Amritsar, who defeated Khushwant of Haryana. While Kaka presented with Rs 13,000, Khushwant received Rs 12,000 as cash prize.
The third bout as won by Sukha of Rajasthan beating Gurpreet of Amritsar. Sukha got Rs 12,000 while Gurpreet as handed over cash prize of 12,000. Kamaljeet (Rs 7500) of Khanna defeated Kallu (Rs 5,000) of Bishnah in Jammu in the fourth main bout.
Moori Peer Baba Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped the conduct of this Vishal Dangal were Badri Nath, Sarpanch Romesh Chander (President), Om Parkash, Mohan Singh, Sukhdev Sharma, Bodh Raj, Parshotam Sharma, Birbal Sharma, Chuni Lal, Rajinder Kumar, Vijay Singh (Biju). Mohammad Fareed, Raj Singh, Murli Dhar (Munna) and Om Parkash Sharma as also Allaha Mai (Ranga), Mohammad Sadiq and Raj Hussain.
Other Results: Jakker of Sarore beat Roshan Lal of Muthi (Jammu); Sonu of Amritsar defeated Murad Ali of Domana; Mohit of Harayana outplayed Parhald Singh of Kalakot; Amir Khan of Jammu downed Pardeep of Khanna; Gurjeet of Amritsar blanked Bagga of Jammu; Ajay Kumar of laden Power House Udhampur trounced Nissar of Doda; Akram of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu trashed Farooq of Sarore; Kulbir Singh of Narkot beat Rustam of Domana; Billa of Jindrah blanked Sohan Singh of Narkot; Salman of Udhampur defeated Sher Singh of Judda; Jamal Ali of Narkote outplayed Tirthu of Reasi; Rajesh Sharma of J and K Police beat Kuldeep Singh of Ladda. Bout between Bobri of Sarore and Rana of Amritsar ended in a draw.

No comments: