Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 13, 2014

Surinsar kesari dangal on Apr 14

Kashmir Times

JAMMU, Apr 12: The 17th Surinsar Kesari annual dangal, organised by J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in collaboration with Department of Tourism, shall take place at Surinsar in block Dansal at 2 pm on April 14.

The decision for organizing the said Vishal Dangal was taken in a meeting held at Jammu under the championship of President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association Shiv Kumar Sharma. The members who attended the meeting were Inderjeet Khajuria, Prithvi Raj Sharma, Bansi Lal Tidyal Mulkh Raj Sharma, Master Prem Kumar, Sanjeev Sharma, Shatrugan Jamwal and Om Parkash Kapoor.

Shiv Sharma said the winner of 1st bout will be awarded with the “Surinsar Kesari 2014” title in addition to traditional silver Gurj (Gadda) and Patta and handsome cash prize.

Sharma appealed to chief Executive officer Surinsar Development Authority Shiv Kumar Gupta to make various necessary arrangements which include fool proof arrangements of security, Ambulance, Cleanliness in and around venue of Dangal, drinking water, Power Supply, barricading, Medical facilities, Public Address System and to prepare Mud Akhara.

Meanwhile the interested Wrestlers of J&K State or outside the State can still submit their entries for participation in the Vishal Dangal to Shiv Kumar Sharma main organizer on his cell no. 94191 61880. Mr. Sharma said all the wrestlers who come over their will get chance to participate may be they are local or outsiders. All the Wrestlers will get handsome cash prizes in addition they get both sides bus fare too.

Mulk Raj Sharma NIS Wrestling Coach has been nominated chairman technical committee. Other technical officials are Bansi Lal Tidyal, Rakesh Khajuria, P.R Sharma, Prem Choudhary, Inderjeet Khajuria, virender Sharma, Deepak Wazir, Tulinder Kumar, Om Parkash verma, Murlidhar Munna Vijay Singh (Biju)and Prem Kumar.

No comments: