Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 23, 2010

Gurvinder Bags Gran Mord Dangal Title

JAMMU, May 20: Punjab wrestler, Gurvinder of Garh Shanker bagged the 30th Annual Gran Mord Kesari dangal title after he defeated Benia of Basantgarh in district Udhampur in the main bout that took place at Gran Mord in tehsil and district Reasi.
Winner, Gurvinder received a cash prize of Rs 6,000 while runner up, Benia given away Rs 4,000 as cash prize money by the organizers. second main bout was won by Roshan Lal of J&K Police who beat Sunil of Chandigarh to bag Rs 3,000 cash incentive. In the third main bout, Parveen of Chandigarh beat Onkar Singh of BSF.
In all, 55 bouts were played in this dangal between local wrestlers hailing from Udhampur, Reasi, Jammu, Kathua, Rajouri, J&K Police and also those from states of Himachal Pardesh, Punjab, Delhi, M.P, Harayana, Chandigarh and Uttar Pradesh.
This mega wrestling event was organized by Gran Mord Dangal Committee in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. Deputy Commissioner Reasi, Pondurang K Pole was the chief guest on the occasion who gave away prizes to the winners. President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association presided over the function. SSP Reasi, Anand Kumar Jain, Assistant Commissioner, Sukhdev Singh Sambyal, DySP Reasi, Abdul Rashid, Tehsildar Sher Singh, SHO Reasi Virender Gupta and Naib Tehsildar Reasi, Munshi Ram were the guests of honour.
Members of organizing Committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were former Sarpanch Raj Kumar Sharma (Raju), Ashwani Kumar Abrol (Tony Shah), Capt Lehar Singh Retd., ex- Sarpanch, Kewal Singh, Daram Chand, Girdhari Lal, Mohd Shafi, Dharam Singh, Master Puran Chand, Tilak Raj Goswami, Mohd Mustaq, Ram Chand,. Kartar Chand, Ashok Singh, Raj Kumar, Chanda Pahalwan, Gulam Rasool, Ram Lal, Khushi Mohd, Mohd Fareed, Master Ram Krishan (Retd). Karatar Singh, Vijay Singh, Rajinder Kumar and Om Parkash Sharma NIS Wrestling Police Coach.
Other Results: Prahalad Singh bt Shahia; Sunny Sharma bt Nasib Singh; Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhalwal (Jammu) bt Sandeep of Delhi; Babbu beat Prittam Singh; Kalu of Shiv Mandir Akhara beat Inderjeet of Garh Shanker (Punjab); Sukha of Garh Shanker (Punjab) bt Sukhdev (Sonu) of J&K Police; Pritam Singh of Reasi bt Jatinder of Mathura (UP); Succha of Taran Tarn bt Anil Kumar (Mohanu) of J&K Police Jammu; Raju of Ajnala bt Mohd. Akram of Jammu; Pawan Kumar bt Billu; Surinder of Delhi bt Murad Ali of Jammu; Fiza of Billwar bt Bal Mukund of UP; Kulbir Singh bt Bir Singh. Bouts between Teg Singh and Rinki and Gulshan Singh of J&K Police and Fiza of Billawar ended in a draw.

No comments: