Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 19, 2010

Ravinder-Benia Share Roun-Domel Kesari Wrestling Title

JAMMU: Ravinder Ghoti of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi and Benia of Basantgarh in district Udhampur shared the 39th Annual Roun-Domel Kesari Vishal Dangal title that took place at Roun-Domel in tehsil and district Udhampur. 
This day-long Dangal was organised by Thill Roun-Domel Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association. Both these wrestlers, who shared the main bout after fighting a marathon 41-minute long battle, were given away a cash prize of Rs 6,000 each by the chief guest, Shiv Kumar Sharma, president J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association. Commandant Border Security Force (BSF), S Salathia and former MLA, Faquir Chand and SHO Udhampur, Arvind Sambyal were guests of honour.
In all, 35 bouts were played in this Dangal between local wrestlers hailing from Udhampur, Reasi, Kathua, Jammu, Rajouri, as also those from states of Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Delhi, Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh.
In the second main bout Gurvinder Singh of Punjab defeated Gurlad, again from Punjab and were awarded cash prize of Rs 5, 000 and Rs 3, 000 respectively. Third bout went to Anuj Kumar of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi, who beat Qasim Din (Billu) of J&K Police while the fourth bout between Roshan Lal of J&K Police and Ajmer of Punjab ended in a tame draw.
Members of the organising committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were Dharam Singh Ranyal Lambardar (president) and Om Parkash Verma, Yog Raj Katoch, Ashok Kumar Padha, Rajinder Singh Ranyal (Sonu), Krishan Chand Gupta, ex-Sarpanch Capt. Kour Singh, Jag Dutt Padha, Vijay Singh (Biju), Om Parkash Sharma N.I.S wrestling coach, Mohammad Fareed, Dara Singh, Onkar Singh, Vinod, Raju, Romesh, Makhan, Vanty and Suram Singh,
Other Results: Raja of Ajnala bt Akram of Jammu; Harpal of Punjab Police bt Anil Kumar (Mohanu) of J and K Police; Succha of Punjab bt Gulshan Singh of J and K Police Jammu; Dana of Ajnala bt Subhash of Garhi (Udhampur), Opinder of Amritsar bt Dana of Ajnala.

1 comment:

Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.