Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 23, 2010

Wrestler Benia Wins Trintha Kesari Title

JAMMU: Wrestler Benia of Basantgarh of J and K Police clinched the sixth Annual Trintha Kesari title defeating Sunil of Chandigarh in the main bout held at Triintha in Reasi.
Dangal was organised by Trintha Dangal Committee in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the supervision of Shiv Kumar Sharma, president of the Association.
Benia received a cash prize of Rs 3,600, runner up, Sunil Kumar given away Rs 2,000 as cash prize money by the organisers. In all 58 bouts were played in this Dangal between local wrestlers hailing from Udhampur, Reasi Jammu, Kathua, Rajouri, J&K Police and also those from States of H.P, Punjab, Delhi, M.P, Haryana, Chandigarh and U.P.
Shiv Kumar Sharma was the chief guest on the occasion. He gave away prizes to the winners, Naib Tehsildar Shri Munshi Ram was the guest of honour. Prominent citizens, officials and large number of people witnessed the Vishal Dangal.
In the second main bout wrestler Roshan Lal of J and K Police of Muthi (Jammu) beat wrestler Lalla of Delhi. Third main bout went to wrestler Onkar Singh of BSF of Kathua, who beat wrestler Dana of Ajnala (Punjab) while the fourth bout between Fiza of Billawar and Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal in Jammu ended in a draw.
Members of organising committee who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were Shabir Ahmed Magray, Gain Chand, Onkar singh, Madan Lal, Balwan Singh, Varinder Kumar, Raju, Sahil Ahmed Magray, Capt. Lehar Singh (Retd.), Mohammad Fared, Master Ram Krishan (Retd.) and Janak Singh.
Other Results : Murad Ali beat Naresh, Raju beat Nanak Singh, Prem Verma beat Karnail Singh, Kulbir Singh of Jammu beat Inderjeet of Garh Shanker, Sunit Singh of Kala Kot (Rajouri) beat Jatinder of Mathura (U.P), Bobari of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu beat Rakesh of U.P, Pawan Kumar of Rohtak (Haryana) beat Vijay Kumar of Jammu, Kala beat Shahia of Ramnagar, Sukha of Garh Shanker beat Surinder of (M.P), Prahald Singh of Kalakot (Rajouri) beat Bal Mukand of Mathura (U.P). Bouts between Murad Ali V/s Lalli, Mukesh of Chandigarh V/s Nasib Singh of J and K Police of Mahore (Reasi), Kalu of Jammu V/s Raju of Kapurthalla and Raja of Ajnala V/s Swarn Singh of Kot Bhawal (Jammu) ended in a draw.

No comments: