Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 19, 2012

Vikrant of Delhi Lifts Bhamag Kesari Dangal Title

State Times

JAMMU: National Champion, Vikrant (Vicky) of Guru Hanuman Akhara in Delhi lifted the 14th Annual Bhamag Kesari Dangal title beating Jagdev of Ludhiana in Punjab in a close contest that took place at Sardabbar (Kalsote) in block Panchari of district Udhampur on the last day of three-day Shiv Parvati Cave Shrine Mela.
Vicky was awarded a cash prize of Rs. 9,000 along with traditional Silver Gurj (Gadda) and Patta while runners-up, Jagdev was presented Rs 6,000 by the organisers, J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in collaboration with Bamhag Kesari Dangal Committee.
The second main bout went to Cadet National Gold Medalist of 2007, Vikas of Khanna in Punjab, who beat Sukha of Rajasthan.
In all, 33 bouts were played in this day-long Dangal. Third bout was won by Rafiq of Ludhina, who defeated Burra of Pathankot while Sagar of Sat Paul Akhara Delhi defeated Ranjeet of Ludhiana for the fourth main bout.
Member Legislative Assembly (MLA) Udhampur, Balwant Singh Mankotia was Chief Guest who gave away cash prize to the winners and runners-up. President of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided. Senior BJP leader Prof Nirmal Singh, Additional SP, Binam Tosh, Tehsildar Udhampur S.S Chib, Assistant Director Information and Dr. Jagdish Mehra were guests of Honour.
Member Bhamag Kesari Dangal Committee and technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were Swantanter Dev Kotwal, Hans Raj Thakur, Head Master R.S Manhas, Advocate Rajinder Kumar, Binam Tosh, Sunil Badiyal, Mohan Lal, Sindoor Singh, Kartar Singh, Hoshiar Singh, Ganesh Singh, Laxman Singh, Katoch, Sunak Singh, Meeru, Om Parkash Verma, Virender Sharma, Vijay Singh (Biju), Mohd. Fareed and Pappu Lakri.
Other Results:- Sat Paul Damote beat Romesh Power House, Satvir Galote defated Anil Jammu, Gulchain of Mahore defated Saleem Mohd. Of Dubbigali, Jameet Ali of Jammu defated Gurdev Singh of Devigarh, Kala of Phagwara defated Bagga of Mallerkotle, Amjod Ali of Mallerkotle beat Saynam of Delhi, Kalu of Jammu beat Anuj of Delhi, Parveen of Khanne defated Bobari of Jammu, Murad Ali of Jammu beat Sabba of Kanni of Delhi, Manzoor Ali of Doda beat Kuldeep Singh of Ramnagar, Kuldeep Singh of Laddle defated Manna of Rajasthan, Liaket Ali of Panthal defated Bhim of Rajasthan and Gopal of Jindrah beat Rajbeer of Rajasthan.

No comments: