Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

May 16, 2012

Benia Lifts Roun-Domel Dangal Title

State Times

JAMMU: Benia of Jammu and Kashmir won the 41st edition of the Roun-Domel Kesari Dangal, organised by Thill Roun-Domel Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Roun-Domel in district Udhampur.

In the main bout (1st Malli), Benia defeated Bhupinder of Ajnala, Punjab in a 13-minute long fight to win a cash prize of Rs 12,000. Runners-up, Bhupinder got Rs 9,000.

Second main bout was won by Vicky of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi who beat Sukha of Rajasthan. Third main bout was won by wrestler Sagar of Sat Paul Akhara Delhi after he beat Imran Khan of Mallerkotla in Punjab.

In the main bouts, Additional Deputy Commissioner Udhampur, Rajinder Singh was Chief Guest while president J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided. Additional SP Udhampur, Benam Tosh and Tehsildar Udhampur Sanjeev Goswami were Guests of Honour.

Prominent among others present were Gain Chand (SHO), District Social Welfare Officer Yash Paul, District Horticulture Officer, Virender Sharma, Krishan Gopal, Rajashwar (Sarpanch), Sunil Badiyal, Yog Raj Singh Katoch, Dr. Mulk Raj Bamagi and Bittu Raina of Bagani.

Members and technical officials who helped to conduct this Vishal Dangal included Dharam Singh Ranyal Lamberdar (president), Om Parkash Verma, Vijay Kumar Sharma (Panch), Vikram Singh, Dara Singh, Summer Singh Ranyal, Sham Lal Bargotra, Pankaj Gupta, Jog Dutt Padha, Vijay Singh (Biju), Mohd. Fareed, Capt. Kapoor Singh (Retd.) and Virender Sharma.

In all, 38 bouts were played in this day long Dangal. Other Results: Abdual Gaffar of Mallerkotla defeated Raspal of Ajnala; Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal defeated Amjad Ali of Mallerkotla; Narrinder of Ajnala trounced Farooq of Jammu; Pollu of Delhi defeated Murad Ali of Jammu; Swarn Singh of Jammu defeated Bhim of Rajasthan; Sonu of Amritsar defeated Dalip Singh of Kalakote; Malkeat of Ajnala defeated Kallu of Jammu.

No comments: