Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jan 20, 2014

Benia of J&K Police lifts Sool-Pamote Kesari title

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, January 17
Wrestler Benia Amin of J&K Police clinched the 4th Sool-Pamote Kesari dangal title outplaying Mohan Lal (Mohanu) of Delhi in the main bout that took place at village Pamote Nalla in tehsil and district Reasi.
Adjudged best wrestler of the dangal, Benia presented with a cash prize of Rs 15,000 jointly by president of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma and president dangal committee, Rattan Lal. Runners-up, Mohan Lal (Mohanu) got Rs 13,000 prize money.
In all, 48 bouts took played in this day-long
dangal. The second main bout went to Monu Pal of Haryana Police, who beat Kaka of RS Pura. While Mohnu got Rs 12,000 prize money, Rs 9,000 given away to Kaka.
In third main bout ended in a draw between Yodha of Attari Amritsar and Roshan Lal of J&K Police resulting into both shared Rs 15,000 prize money.
The fourth main bout won by Johny of Attari in Amritsar after he defeated Nissar Mohd of Doda.
This dangal was organised under the supervision of organizing committee members including Ratta Lal, Lal Singh Choudhary, Naib Sarpanch Chain Singh, Raghuvir Lal, Panch Gian Chand, and Yog Raj.
Technical officials who helped in the smooth conduct of this dangal included Om Parkash Sharma, Allah Mai (Ranga), Vijay Singh (Viju), Capt. Lehar Singh and Angrej Singh.
Other Results: Nishant of Domana beat Karnail Singh of Reasi, Balli of Domana beat Puran Singh of Reasi, Jamat Ali of Jatti beat Pankaj of Domana, Gopal of Jindrah beat Nisasan of panch, Chharat of Attari beat Bagga of Kot Bhalwal, Murad Ali of Domana beat Viney of Haryana. Bouts between Lallu of Bajrangi Akhara and Bittu of Delhi, Anil Kumar (Mohanu) of J&K Police and Anuj of Delhi, Amir Khan of Nargada and Ajay of Landen Power House Udhampur, Arjun of Amritsar and Dellar Khan of J&K Police and Vivek of Delhi and Javed of Nargada ended in a draw.

No comments: