Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Feb 15, 2010

Benia lifts Shiv Khori Kesari title

Daily Excelsior
JAMMU, Feb 14: Pahalwan Benia defeated Mool Raj in the tough bout to lift 12th Shiv Khori Kesari 2010 title at Government High School, Ransoo.
The vishal dangal was organised by J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in collaboration with J&K Tourism Department, DYSS, Shiv Khori Dangal Committee and District Administration Reasi.
DC Reasi, P K Pole was the chief guest while Shiv Kumar Sharma, president of J&K Indian Style Association presided over.
Assistant Commissioner, Revenue, Sukhdev Singh Sambyal, SP Katra, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Tehsildar Settlement, Reasi, Gopal Singh were the guests of honour.
The winner pahalwan was awarded a cash prize of Rs 6,000 while Mool Raj pocketed a sum of Rs 5,000.
In other bouts, Kamal Joti beat Dharma, Parveen Kumar beat Swarn Singh, Kulbir Singh beat Rakesh Kumar, Dillar Khan beat Tej Singh, Rakesh Kumar beat Murad Ali, Perlhad Singh beat Atter Din, Kalu beat Manjeet, Gulshan Singh beat Bobri, Kripal Singh beat Anil Kumar and Sahil Kumar beat Sunny.

No comments: