Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 28, 2010

Abdul Gani of Punjab wins Nargada Dangal

State Times
JAMMU: Wrestler Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab defeated Omkar Singh of Kathua in the main bout to clinch the sixth Annual Nargada Kesari Dangal title that took place at village Nargada in tehsil and district Jammu.
While winner, Abdul Gani received a handsome cash prize of Rs 9,000 while runners up, Omkar was given away Rs 6,000 as cash prize by the organisers, Nargada Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
In all, 42 bouts played in this dangal. The second main bout was won by Sainf Ali of Mallerkotla in Punjab beating Anil Kumar (Mahanu) of J and K Police. Third main bout between Bobari of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu Nasib of Uttar Pradesh ended in a draw after 23 minutes of inconclusive fight. In the fourth bout Kallu of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu defeated Gulshan Singh of J and K Police while Naresh won the fifth main bout outplaying Akram of Jammu.
Abdul Rashid Malik of People’s Democratic Party (PDP), was Chief Guest and he gave away prizes to winners and runner up of this dangal. He also contributed Rs 15, 000 as prize money to the winners of title bout. President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided while Sub Inspector B. S Manhas and Assistant Executive Engineer, Ghulam Rasool were guests of honour. Shiv Sharma Sharma said that wrestling is a traditional and rural sport so it has become a source of entertainment for rural masses. Prominent among others present were Saif-UL- Maluk, Raspal Singh (Bittu) and Kuldeep.
Members of organising committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of dangal were former Sarpanch, Choudhery Bagh Hussian (president), Choudhery Yateem Ali, Ram Dayal, Choudhery Noor Hussian, Choudhery Gh. Mastaja, Bashir Ahmed, ex-Board Member Choudhery Bagh Hussian, Om Parkash Sharma NIS wrestling coach, Mohammad Fareed, Allah Mai (Ranga), Manjoor Hussian, Bittu Raina and Master Ali Akbar.
Other Results: Gulshan Singh of Kalakot of J and K Police bt Murad Ali of Jammu, Suneet Singh of Kalakot bt Bagga of Raipur Kheri, Kala of Nargara bt Shamsher Singh of J and K Police, Allah Rakha of Bamyal bt Raju of Sangur, Murad Ali of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu bt Soara Din of Mallerkotla. Bouts between Prem Verma of Jhiri and Yasheen of Chouodi and Anwar of Naragara and Baggher of Kot Bhawal in Jammu ended in a draw.

No comments: