Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jul 2, 2010

Punjab Wrestler Gurvinder Wins Mageni Kesari Dangal

JAMMU: Wrestler Gurvinder of Garh Shanker in Punjab lifted yet another title winning the 37th Annual Mageni Kesari dangal outplaying Sainf Ali of Mallerkotla in Punjab in the main bout that took place at village Mageni near Chopra Shop in district Udhampur.
Winner Gurvinder bagged cash prize of Rs 5,500 while runner up, Sainf Ali received Rs 3,500 as cash prize. In all, 41 bouts played in the one day-long dangal which was organised by Mageni Dangal Committee in association with J and K Indian style Wrestling Association.
President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma was chief guest on the occasion who gave away cash prizes to the winners and runner up wrestlers. Station House Officer, Rambal, R. K Sharma, Principal Joginder Sharma and ex Sarpanch Ram Lal were guests of honour.
Prominent among others present were Amar Singh, Roshan Singh and Virinder Kumar. In the second main bout Puran Singh of Garh Shanker in Punjab defeated wrestler Babber of Meerut in Uttar Pradesh to receive a cash prize of Rs 3,000.
Third main bout between wrestler Bablu of Meerut and Kulbir Singh of Kotbhalwal in Jammu ended in a draw. Both the wrestlers were given away Rs 2000 each. In the fourth main bout, Lalli of Garh Shanker emerged winner outplaying wrestler Swarn Singh of Kot Bhalwal.
Members of organising committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of dangal were Miru (president), Subhash Chander, Ram Lal, Amar Singh, Dev Raj, Vinod Lamberdar Capt. Lehar Singh (Retd),Vijay Singh (Biju), Mohammad Fareed, Lakshman Singh and Sandokh Chand Patwari.
Other Results: Billu of Kot Bhalwal bt Rohit of Amritsar, Bagga of Jammu bt Guddu of UP, Sukha of Garh Shanker bt Shahia of Billawar in Kathua, Lalli of Garh Shanker bt Romesh Sharma of Banaras in U P, Rajesh of J and K Police of Jindrah bt Karan of Amritsar, Kuldeep Singh of Ramnagar bt Kuldeep Singh of Bhamag, Yog Raj of Amritsar bt Ashok Kumar of Jammu, Bhola of Amritsar bt Mohd. Akram of Jammu, Subhash Chander of Mageni (Chopra Shop) bt Swardin of Maller Kotla Punjab, Raja of UP bt Kallu of Jammu and Inderjeet of Garh Shanker bt Arjun of Amritsar.
Bouts played between Babbu of Jindrah and Billu of Kot Bhalwal, Vijay of Bain Bajalta and Mustaq Mohammad of Bamhag Sonu of Garh Shanker and Ajay of Ladon Power House in Udhampur, Thirthu of Manwal and PawanKumar of J&K Police, Gurpal of Amritsar and Bobari of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu and Butta of Garh Shanker and Murad Ali of Jammu ended in a draw.

No comments: