Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jul 27, 2010

Wrestler Jakker Hussain Wins Sirla Bhaga Kesari Dangal

JAMMU, July 26: Wrestler, Jakker Hussain of Jammu lifted the Sirla Bhaga Kesari dangal beating Soni of Samba in the main bout played at Government High School Sirla Bhaga in district Reasi. Dangal was organised by Sirla Dangal Committee in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
Jakker was presented a cash prize of Rs 3,000 by chief guest, Shiv Kumar Sharma, president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. Runners-up, Soni got Rs 1500 as cash prize money. Advocate Pawan Dev Singh presided over the function while SDPO Reasi, Abdul Rashid and SHO Reasi, Virender Gupta were guests of honour.
In all, 27 bouts played in the day-long dangal. The second main bout played between Mohd. Akram of Chouadi in Jammu and Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal in Jammu ended in a tame draw after 26 minutes of contest. Both these wrestlers were given away Rs 2000 each as cash prize.
Third main bout went to Swarn Singh of Kot Bhawal in Jammu, who beat Yasheen. Swarn received a cash prize of Rs 1,500 while Yasheen got Rs 1,000. In the fourth bout wrestler Bobari of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu trounced Prem Verma of Jhiri.
Members of organizing committee and those technical officials who helped in successful conduct of dangal included Bharat Singh, Jamit Singh, Munshi Ram, Nasib Singh, Gulair Singh, Master Ram Krishan (Retd.), Advocate Pawan Dev Singh, Mohd. Latif, Mohd. Fareed and Tony Shah.
Other Results: Amir Khan of Nargada Jammu bt Maltaz Ahmed of Sirla, Jagdev Singh of Narkote bt Bharat Bushan of Akhnoor, Vinod Singh of Akhnoor bt Bir Singh of J&K Police Reasi, Latif of Sirla bt Kartar Singh of Narkot, Billu of Kot Bhawal Jammu bt Nank Singh of Mahore, Laket Ali of Panthal bt Murad Ali of Jammu, Amir Khan of Naragada bt Bharat Bushan of Akhnoor, Bagga of Naragada bt Jagdev Singh of Narkot, Kuldeep Singh of Bamhag bt Parsotam Singh of Tar Talocha, Bobari of Jammu bt Likat Ali of Panthal and Yasheen of Chouadi Jammu bt Bir Singh of Reasi. Bouts between Karnail Singh of Narkote and Nank Singh of Mahore and Suman Singh of Didi Pangal and Ravinder Singh of Mahore ended in draw.

No comments: