Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 8, 2013

Abdul Gani of Punjab lifts Battal Ballian Dangal

State Times

JAMMU: Punjab Wrestler, Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla lifted the Fifth Annual Battal Ballian Kesari Dangal title outplaying Navneet of Patiala in the main bout that lasted for 23 minutes at Battal in district Udhampur.
Dangal was organised by Pir Baba Dangal Committee Battal Ballian in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
Title winner, Gani was awarded with cash prize of Rs 36,000 along with Patta while runner-up, Navneet received Rs 25,000 prize money from Chief Guest, National Conference leader, Taranjeet Singh Tony, who was accompanied by Sarpanch, Makhan Lal and President of the J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma as also Deep Singh.
An expenditure of Rs 2 lakh was incurred on this day-long Dangal, wherein 52 bouts were played. Senior Superintendent of Police (SSP) Udhampur, Benam Tosh and State BJP Vice-President, Pawan Gupta were Guests of Honour.
The second main bout was won by Wrestler Benia of J and K Police, who beat Sarpanch of Khanna in Punjab. While Benia presented a cash prize of Rs 31,000, Rs 20,000 were given to runners-up Wrestler, Sarpanch.
In third main bout, Sagar of Delhi emerged winner beating Sukha of Rajasthan while Karan of Patila defeated Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhalwal in the fourth bout. Mohammad Jakker of Sarore won the fifth bout beating Yodha of Attari. Member and Technical Officials, who helped in the smooth conduct of the Dangal included Deep Singh (Pinka), Sukhdev Singh, Dhiyan Singh, Master Munna Khan, Munshi Ram Sharma, Puran Chand Sharma, Sham Singh, Gulshad Master, Yog Raj Singh, Sikander Singh, Jatinder Singh Babu, Vijay Singh, (Biju), Om Parkash Verma, Kapoor Singh, Kulvinder Singh, Deepak Wazir, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) and Murli Dhar. Other Results: Tinku of Delhi beat Kaka of Namashar; Amir Khan of Nargada defeated Talab of Mallerkotla; Lallu of Jammu outplayed Bhabber of UP; Bittu of Delhi trounced Akram of Jammu; Anyat of Manwal downed Anand of Haryabna; Charta of Attari blanked Gulshan Singh of J and K Police; Devinder of Domana beat Parveen of Delhi; Sonu of Hartyana defeated Akram of Choudi; Amjad of Bishnah trounced Angrej of Dom Charri. Bout between Gopal Sharma of Jindrah and Javed Khan of Jammu ended in a draw.

1 comment:

rs gold said...

great, I like this article, thanks