Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 30, 2013

J&K Police wrestler lifts 5th Battal Dangal 2013 title

JAMMU, June 27: Benia of J&K Police lifted “5th Annual Battal Kesari title 2013”. The dangal was organized by Battal Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Battal in Tehsil Majalta and District Udhampur.
In the said dangal 51 bouts were played wherein local wrestlers hailing from Jammu, Udhampur, Doda, Reasi, Kathua,, J&K Police besides wrestlers from Delhi, Chandigarh, Rajasthan, Haryana, Punjab, U.P and BSF participated.
In the main bout Benia defeated Boom of BSF of Chandigarh.
Baba Varinder Giri was the chief guest on the occasion who gave away the cash prize to the winner and runner-up wrestlers. President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and Member J&K State Sports Council Shiv Kumar Sharma, presided over the function.
The second main bout was played between Amit of Mehar Chand Akhara Rohtak in Haryana and Sukha of Rajasthan, Amit beat Sukha.. The third main bout was went to Bagga of Mallerkotla in Punjab who defeated Sagar of Delhi.
The fourth bout was won by Gurmail of BSF of Chandigarh who beat Pankaj Raina of Navy of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi. In the fifth bout Gurmail also defeated Mohd Akram of Chouadi Jammu..
The details: Asaf of Jammu beat Rajesh Sharma of J&K Police, Satynam of Rajasthan beat Lallu of Jammu, Mohd. Sadiq of Domana beat Ravinder of Chandigarh, Kala of Banaras beat Sandeep of Delhi, Bittu of Delhi beat Amir Khan of Jammu, Javed Khan of Nargada beat Ravinder of BSF of Chandigarh, Murad Ali of Domana beat Chaman Lal of BSF of Chandigarh, Mohd Akram of Jammu beat Surinder of Chandigarh, Rajbir of Rajasthan beat Gopal Sharma of Jindrah, Rajesh Sharma of Jindrah beat Rinku of Banaras, Teg Ali of Domana beat Jakker of Manwal, Kala of Banarras beat Billa of Domana, Anyat of Manwal beat Chandan of Banaras and Angrez Singh of Surinsar beat Rahul of Jindrah.

No comments: