Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 22, 2013

Sandeep of Delhi bags Majalta dangal title

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, June 21
Wrestler Sandeep of Delhi lifted the 101st Annual Majalta Katheel Kesari Dangal title outplaying Wrestler Gurmail of BSF of Chjandigarh in the bout for first malli at Majalta in district Udhampur.
Dangal was organized by Dangal Committee Katheel in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. An expenditure of Rs 80,000 incurred on the conduct of this dangal wherein 35 bouts took place.
Winner of the main bout, wrestler Sandeep was awarded handsome cash prize of Rs 5,000 while runner-up Gurmail received Rs 4,000. The second main bout went to Rajesh of Rohtak, who beat Anil of Delhi. While Rajesh got Rs 4,000 as cash prize, Anil presented Rs 3,000.
Third main bout won by Vikas of Khanna beating, who defeated Joginder of BSF of Chandigarh. Vikas was awarded a cash prize of Rs 3,500 while runner-up, Joginder got Rs 2,500. Fourth bout clinched by Pankaj Raina of Guru Hanuman Akahara Delhi outplaying Navin of Badri Akhara Delhi.
President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma was chief guest in this dangal, who gave away the cash prizes to the winners and runner-up wrestlers. General secretary state Youth Congress, Ranbir Singh Pathiana and DySP, Dr, G Mustafa were guests of honour. Retired DySP, Chajja Singh Slathia , president District Udhampur Indian Style Wrestling Association, Virender Kumar Sharma, Sarpanch Peoni, Raghubir Singh, Sarpanch Majalta Dena Nath, Sarpanch Sail Khouri Ber, Mohan Lal and Om Parkash Verma were among others present.
Members and technical officials who helped in conduct of this event included Subash Chander Sharma (president), Babu Ram (vice president), (Prem Chand (secretary) Chenan Lal (cashier), Shiv Ram, Puran Singh, Rashpaul Sharma, Hardev Raj, Kuldeep Kumar, Des Raj, Bodh Raj Bhagat, Bodh Raj Sharma, Tirath Ram, Rattan Lal Khajuria, Avtar Singh, (all members), Lochan Singh, Kuldeep Singh Sagar Singh, Om Parkash Verma, Varinder Kumar Sharma, Mohd. Fareed, and Murli Dhar (Munna).
Other Results: Kuldeep Singh of Chandigarh beat Sukhant of Rohtak,Tirthu of Manwal beat Murad Ali of Domana, Amit of Rohtak beat Sujjad of Domana, Makhan of Ludhiana beat Raj Singh of Samba, Rajbir of Rajasthan beat Lucky of Jammu, Naresh of Rohtak beat Vijay of Bai Bajalta. Murad Ali of Domana beat Devinder of BSF of Chandigarh, bouts between Mohd Tariq of Doda and JB of Rohtak and Romesh of Panipat and Bittu of Delhi ended in draw.

No comments: