Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 14, 2013

Punjab wrestler Abdul Gani bags Malhar Kesari title

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, June 10
Wrestler Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab today clinched the 15th Malhar Kesari dangal title outplaying Amit of Chandigarh in the bout for first malli at Malhar in district Udhampur.
Dangal was organized by Malhar Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
Winner of the 1st malli, wrestler Gani was awarded with handsome cash prize of Rs 31,000 by chief guest, senior BJP leader, Pawan Kumar Gupta while runners-up, Amit received cash award of Rs 20,000 from president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma. Cash prizes were sponsored by Devinder Kumar and Sarpanch Subash Chander Sharma.
Also present were BJP Udhampur city president, Raj Kumar Bucha, district Udhampur Indian Style Wrestling president, Varinder Kumar Sharma and district Reasi Indian Style Wrestling Association, senior vice president, Naresh Kumar (Pappu).
In all, 52 bouts took place in this day-long dangal. In the second main bout, Benia of J&K Police defeated Gourav Raina of Himacal Pardesh. Benia was awarded a cash prize of Rs 31,000 while runner-up wrestler Gourav, got Rs 20,000. The third main bout won by Sagar of Delhi who defeated Rehmat Ali of mallerkotla. Fourth bout was won by Sahil of Mallerkotla beating Kala of Doom Charri.
Members and technical officials who helped for conduct of this event included Devinder Kumar, Sarpanch Subash Chander Sharma, Om Paul, ex Sarpanch Pawan Kumar, Beli Ram, Nariyan Dass, Gopal Dass, Nek Ram, Madan Lal, Capt (Retd.) Dhiyan Singh, Varinder Kumar, Om Parkash Verma, Mohd. Fareed, Vijay Singh (Biju), Tulinder Kumar, Pappu Lakri, Miru, Santokh Chand and Murli Dhar (Munna).
Other Results: Billu of Kot Bhawal Jammu beat Mohd. Sadiq of Doom Charri, Ajay Landen beat Romesh of Banaras, Mohd. Nisar of Doda beat Talib of Mallerkotla, Sunil of Chandigarh beat Manni of Mallerkotla, Bagga of Mallerkotla beat Navdeep of Doom Charri, Vijay of Bain Bajalta in Jammu beat Jaideep of Haryana, Deepak of Ludhiana beat Kuldeep Singh of Roun Domail, Murad Ali of Domana beat Nawaj Ali of Mallerkotla and Devinder of Domana beat Neeraj of Una (HP).