Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 22, 2013

Sadiq Ali wins Vijaypur Patti dangal title

Early Times Plus
JAMMU, June 16: Wrestler Sadiq Ali of Domana bagged the eighth Vijaypur Patti Kesari dangal title outplaying wrestler Farooq of Sarore in the main bout played at Upper Patti in district Samba.
Dangal was organized by upper Patti Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association in memory of Pahalwan Kewal Singh on his death anniversary.
Winner of the main bout, Sadiq was awarded with a cash prize of Rs. 2,000 by president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma, who was accompanied by president of the Dangal Committee, Thakur Jambal Singh and Sarpanch Yogeswar Singh.
In all, 31 bouts were played in this day-long dangal. The second main bout won by wrestler Billa of Sarore, who defeated Mohd. Rafique while third bout went to Surjjan of Domana after he defeated Bishu of Sarore. In fourth main bout, Sujjan Ali (Balli) of Domana beat Rehman Ali of Chouadi.
Former Minister, Surjit Singh Slathia was chief guest who gave away cash prizes to the winners winning the main bouts. DySP, SM Jangral, SHO Vijaypur, Iqbal Choudhary and former Tehsildar, Bansi Lal Tidyal were he guests of honour. Sarpanch Yogeshwar Singh, Katha Bachak Sahil Ji Maharaj, Surinder Sharma and Balbir Singh Rahya were also present.
Member and technical officials who assisted in the conduct of this dangal were Thakur Jambal Singh, Reasham Singh, Thoru Ram, Master Prem Chand, Balbir Singh Rahya, Yogeshwar Singh, Dharam Chand, Surinder Sharma, Master Prem Kumar Verma, Ranjeet Singh (Makhan), Raj Hussain and Murli Dhar (Munna).
Other Results: Shubam of Suchani beat Asif Khan of Khu Talab; Narinder Singh of Kathua beat Mustaq of Bari Khad; Bhushan of Domana Akhara beat Manjoor of Bai Khad; Sonu of Rahya Morh beat Surjit of BSF of Miran Sahib; Balbinder Singh of Domana beat Babbu of Sarore; Teg Ali of Domana beat Tariq Hussian of Cher Khad; Talab of Chouadi beat Kala of Nagri (Kathua); Mulk Raj of Akhnoor beat Manjoor Hussain of Nagrota; Balwn Singh of Domana beat Yokuib Hussain of Chir Khad; Manga of Ramgarh beat Rahim Din of Bari Khad; Balwan Singh of Domana beat Mandeep Kumar of Arnia; Soni of Cher Khad beat Yousaf of Kathua and bout between Parkash of Sarore and Surjan Singh of Domana ended in a draw.

No comments: