Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Sep 22, 2013

Punjab wrestler Abdul Gani lifts Rustam-e-Bhatindi title

Newspoint Bureau
Jammu Tawi, September 20
Wrestler Abdul Gani of Mallerkotla in Punjab lifted the 15th Rustam-e-Bhatindi Dangal title beating wrestler Gur Sewak (Asia silver medalist 2013 in cadet at Mongolia) of Khanna in Punjab in fight for the main bout that lasted for 32 minutes at Bhatindi, here today. Winner Gani was awarded with handsome cash prize of Rs 31,000 by chief guest Superintendent of Police (SP) Security, Mahood Choudhary. President of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presented runners-up prize of Rs 20,000 to Gur Sewak. Shamsher Singh Sambyal (DySP) and Prithvi Raj Sharma (retired SP) were guests of honour.
The second main bout was won by Benia of J&K Police, who beat Vikas of Khanna in Punjab. Benia was awarded with cash prize of Rs 20,000 while Vikas got Rs 11,000. In third bout, Murad Ali of Domana Akhara Jammu defeated Shiv of Khanna while fourth bout went to Gosha of Garh Shanker in Punjab who defeated Sadiq Ali of Domana. The fifth bout won by Sukha of Khanna beating Bobari of Sarore and the sixth bout between Asaf of Bajrangi Akhara and Sikender of Khanna ended in a draw. This dangal was organised by Panjpeer Dhargah Shareef Bhatindi in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. In all, 49 bouts took place in this day-long dangal. Prominent persons who were present on the occasion were Sarpanch Rehmat Ali, Sarpanch Mumtaz Mohd. and Numberdar Jamat Ali.
Members and technical officials who helped in the smooth conduct of this dangal were Sarpanch Choudhary Noor Alam, Sarpanch Mohd. Alam, Razak Ali, Hazi Shah Mohd, Saia Mohd, Raj Hussian, Mohd. Fareed, Krishan Singh NIS wrestling coach of J&K Police, Mohd Sadiq, Dheeraj Sharma, Rehmat Ali and PR Sharma.
Others Results: Mohd. Akram of Chouadi Jammu bt Bittu of Mallerkotla; Nisar Ahmed of Doda beat Vijay of Bai-Bajaltha; Javed of Nargada bat Gulshan of Rajouri of J&K Police; Dillar Khan of J&K Police bt Arjun of Domana Akhara and Lallu of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu beat Billa.

No comments: