Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Sep 5, 2013

Wrestler Ajay of Udhampur lifts 60th Sankri Kesari title

Excelsior Sports Correspondent

KATRA, Sept 4: Wrestler Ajay Kumar of Laden Power House in District Udhampur lifted “60th Annual Sankri Kesari Dangal Title 2013″ , organized by Meer Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Sankri Devta Devsthan in Block Panchari, here.
The event was held under the over all supervision of president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma.
For winning the main bout (1st Malli), Ajay Kumar was awarded a cash prize of Rs 2,500 alongwith “Maa Ki Chunni and Pagri” while runner-up Wrestler Babu Din of Ramnagar in District Udhampur was awarded with cash prize of Rs 1,500.
Tehsildar Settlement who is also Mela Officer Shrinath Suman was the chief guest on the occasion who distributed cash prizes among the winners and runners-up wrestlers. Sharma presided over the function, while BMO Panchari, Dr GL Dogra, SHO Panchari Sanjeev Sharma and BDO Panchari Sajjad Bashir Sumberia were the guests of honour. Naib Tehsildar Panchari Mulk Raj, AEE Ravi Mengi, Sarpanchs Baldev Singh, Lashman Dass, Jevan Sharma, Chuni Lal, Bansi Lal, Perbhat Singh and Dr Rattan Singh were also present on the occasion.

No comments: