Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 21, 2010

Gurvinder, Pumma Share Kundrorian Dangal Title

JAMMU: Gurvinder Singh of Garh Shanker in Punjab and Pamma of Dera Baba Nanak in district Reasi shared the Kundrorian Kesari dangal title after the27 minutes bout played between them that ended in a tame draw at Hanuman Akhara, Kundrorian in the holy town of Katra.
Both the wrestlers fighting for the main bout were awarded a cash prize of 21,000 by the chief guest, state secretary of BSP, Rakesh Singh Wazir and president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma.
In the second main bout, Jagroop of Amritsar defeated Benia of J and K Police to receive the cash prize of Rs 11,000 while runners-up, Benia was given away Rs 7, 000.
The third main bout was won by Puran Singh of Garh Shanker (Punjab) beating Baj Singh of Dera Baba Nanak. The fourth main bout went to Fiza of Billawar, who defeated Raju of Kapurthala in Punjab. In both these bouts cash prizes were awarded.
Dangal was organised by Kun drorian Dangal Committee Katra under the aegis of J&K Indian Style wrestling Association at Kundrorian, Katra. Balwant Singh president of the wrestling committee supervised the whole event along with other members of the committee.
Members and technical official who helped conduct the event included, Karnail Singh,Ganesh Singh, Ajay Singh, Papu Lakri,Shanker Singh, Joginder Singh, Naresh Kumar, Bansi Lal, Sudersah Thakur, Arjun Singh, Ved Parkah Singh, Rattan Lal, Raj Singh and Mohammad Fareed.
Other Results: Laket Ali bt Jameet Lal , Rajesh bt Gt Hossiar Singh, Baloo bt Sanjay, Manjour bt Raj Singh, Gurdev Singh bt Sukhdev Singh, Youns bt Rashpal, Murad Ali bt Gurdev ,Kartar Singh bt Bittu,Yaseen bt Sheeba, Buta bt Kalui,Akram bt Mast, Sheesh Kumar bt Ali, Fiza bt Kalu. Bouts between Baloo and Pritam Singh; Tej Singh and Romesh; Pritam Singh and Vijay Singh; Raju and Muraod Ali ended in a draw.

No comments: