Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 20, 2010

Punjab Wrestler Gurvinder Bags Salora Kesari Title

JAMMU, Apr 19: Punjab wrestler, Gurvinder Singh won the 26th Annual Salora Kesari Dangal which was organised by Salora Dangal Committee in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Salora on Jammu-Srinagar National Highway.
In the main bout for the title, Gurvinder defeated Mohd. Rafiq of Ludhiana after 19 minutes of tough contest to receive a cash award of Rs 9,000 from the organizers. Runners-up, Rafiq got Rs 6,000. The prizes were given away to the winners and runners-up by former Minister, Jugal Kishore Sharma and Shiv Kumar Sharma as also Chuni Lal Ramotra and SHO, Ajay Bhatt.
In all, 78 top wrestlers from Delhi, Punjab, Haryana, Uttar Pradesh, J&K, J&K Police and BSF took part in this dangal which held under the supervision of Shiv Kumar Sharma president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
In all, 48 bouts were played. The second main bout was won by wrestler Benia of Basantgarh in District Udhampur of J&K Police beating Virender of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi. In the third main bout Rinka of Chandigarh defeated Pinder of Ajnala in Punjab. The fourth main bout went to Sunny of Hoshairpur Punjab who defeated Sona of Amritsar while Puran Singh of Garh Shanker won fifth bout beating Fiza of Billawar.
Salora Dangal Committee and technical officials who helped in the smooth conduct of this Dangal were Chuni Lal Ramotra, Rajinder Kumar, Surinder Kumar, Isher Dass, Swarn Singh, Sain Mohd, Ashok Kumar, Raj Singh, Mohd Fareed, Vijay Singh, Pappu Lakri, Ajit Kumar, Pawan Kumar, and Om Parkash Sharma.
Other Results: Happy of Dera Baba Nanak bt Fiza of Billawer; Prahald Singh of Kalakot bt Karan of Ajnala; Murad Ali of Jammu bt Sheeba of Batala; Billu of Jindrah bt Bir Singh of Reasi; Happy bt Sethi of R.S Pura; Jatinder of Amritsar bt Yaseen of Jammu; Murad Ali of Jammu bt Prahald Singh of Kalakote; Raju of Kapoorthala bt Jatinder of Amritsar. Bouts between Sucha of Taran Tarn and Mukha of Dinanagar BSF; Buta of Ludhiana and Kashmira of Dinanagar; Sonu of Jammu and Romesh of Banaras; Akram of Jammu and Raju of Batala; Parveen of Pathankote and Bobari of Jammu; Billa of Ludhiana and Babbu of Jindrah ended in a draw.

No comments: