Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 14, 2010


KATRA:  26th Annual Salora Kesari Vishal Dangal 2010 is schedule on 17th April (Saturday) at Salora in Tehsil and District Jammu. It is being organised by Salora Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association at 2 PM. It decideed in a meeting at Katra held under Shiv Kumar Sharma President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
The members who attended the meeting were Chuni Lal Ramotra, Rajinder Kumar, Surinder Kumar, Ishar Dass, Swarn Singh, Sain Mohammad, Ashok Kumar, Soni Sharma, Raj Singh, Ajit Kumar, Pawan Kumar, and Bansi Lal (Ex. Sarpanch).
Shiv Kumar Sharma who is also Treasure Indian Style Wrestling Association of India informed that some 60-65 Wrestlers from different states are going to take part in the Vishal Dangal. J and K Wrestlers from Jammu, Kathua, Udhampur, Roun-Domail, Ramnagar, Pouni, Panchari, Moungri, Jindrah, Reasi, Akhnoor, Dansal, B.S.F and J and K Police have confirmed their entries while other state wrestlers from Amritsar, Pathankote, Hoshirpur, Jullunder, Ludhiana, Ajnala, Dera Baba Nanak, Khanna and Delhi are likely to participate in the Dangal.
Sharma informed that it is being conducted regularly at Salora for last 26 years every year on Baisakhi. Sharma said that the best Wrestler of the Dangal with “26th Salora Kesari 2010” title.
He would be awarded traditional silver Gurj (Gadda) and Patta along with handsome cash prize. The Dangal is organised on Mud Akhara the decision of the referee in every bout will be final and.
Meanwhile, all the interested Wrestlers of the Jammu region have been asked to contact Shiv Kumar Sharma (94191 61880) for their entries in the Vishal Dangal.

No comments: