Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 22, 2010

Wrestler Benia Wins Amar Nath Memorial Kesari Title

JAMMU, Apr 21: One of the top wresters of the state, Benia of Basantgarh in district Udhampur clinched the 47th Annual Amar Nath Memorial Kesari dangal title beating Fiza of Billawar in district Kathua in the main bout played at Sports Stadium Udhampur.
Organised by Amar Nath Memorial Maha Dangal Samiti, the dangal held in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and Mukti Youth Club Udhampur.
Member Legislative Assembly (MLA), Balwant Singh Mankotia was chief guest, who gave away prizes to the winners and runners-up.
President of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided over the function while Councilor Prahald Singh and SHO Udhampur, Arvind Samyal were the guests of honour.
Winner of main bout Benia received a cash prize of Rs 3100 in additional to Silver Gurj (Gadda) and Patta, while runners-up Fiza given away Rs 2,000 as cash prize money by the organizers.
In all 31 bouts were played in this vishal dangal. In the second main bout, Mohd. Akram of Jammu beat Kuldeep Singh of Roun-Domail while the third bout went to Romesh of Banaras, who defeated Nasib Singh of Mohore in Reasi.
In the forth main bout, Subash Chander of Chopra Shop in Udhampur held Pappu of Ramnagar to a draw.
Other Results: Raspaul Singh bt Sharif, Satvir Singh bt Tilak Raj, Sonu bt Sonu Lal, Parkash bt Salman, Paviter Singh bt Sunil, Billu bt Vijay, Sat Paul Singh bt Shaffi, Makhan bt Mantoo, Pritam bt Biju, Billu bt Sanjay, Vijay bt Billu, Tirthu bt Vijay, Prabhat Singh bt Jawen, Ajay Sharma bt Vijay. Bout between Shootu and Farooq ended in a draw.
Amar Nath Memorial Maha Dangal Samitti and technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal included Geeta Devi, Balwan Singh, Vikram Salathia, Hans Raj, Sansar Chand, Rakesh Kumar, Sudhir, Ranjeet, Narinder, Raj Singh, Laxhman Singh, Swantantar Dev Kotwal Advocate, Capt. (Retd.) Lehar Singh,Vijay Singh, Miru, Surma Chand and Thakur Dass.
Shiv Kumar Sharma lauded the role of Geeta Devi for organizing such an event in the memory her beloved father Amar Nath Pujari who expired in 2005 and was former president of the Dangal Samiti.
He said, "Holding of such sports events in the state send a massage of love, peace and brotherhood among the people of the country and appealed the young generation to practice wrestling for healthy life.

No comments: