Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 19, 2010


JAMMU, Apr 17: Mohd. Rafiq of Ludhiana in Punjab clinched the 81st Jhajjar Kotli Kesari dangal title outplaying wrestler Virender in the easy main bout that took place at Jhajjar Kotli on Jammu-Srinagar National Highway.
Winner Rafiq was awarded a cash prize of Rs 6,000 in addition to Silver Gurj (Gadda) and Patta by president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma while runners-up, Pahalwan Virender got Rs 4,000.
Dangal was organized by Jhajjar Kesari Dangal Committee is association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
Earlier, chief guest, Member Legislative Assembly (MLA) Jugal Kishore Sharma encouraged the wrestlers taking part in the main bouts. Vipan Gupta, Naib Tehsildar and Ajay Bhatt, SHO were the guests of honour.In all, 48 bouts were played and the winners and runners-up out of these fights were awarded suitable cash prizes by the organizers. The second main bout between Rinka of Chandigarh and Ashar of Amirtsar remained undecided. In the third main bout Sona of Amritsar defeated Bhupinder of Ajnala in Punjab. The fourth main bout was won by Succha of Taran Taaran beating Kalu of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu while the fifth bout went to Fiza of Billawar who beat Pathar of Gurdasspur.
Jhajjar Kotli Kesari Dangal Committee and Technical Committee members who rendered their valuable services were Durga Dass Thappa, Kaka Ram Falgotra, Swarn Singh Charak, Puran Chand Baru, Bishan Dass, Modan Mohan Dubey, Ajit Singh, Prabh Dayal, Bashir Mohd. Malik, Magger Singh, Nar Singh, Tara Mani, Bodh Raj, Jaswant Singh, Satish Kumar Dubey, Ashok Kumar Baru, Pappu Lakri, Vijay Singh, Raj Singh, Balwan Singh, Om Parkash Dubey and Mohd. Fareed.
Other Results: Bobari bt Raju, Raju of Batala bt Akram of Jammu, Fiza of Billawar bt Raju of Kapurthala, Murad Ali bt Onkar Singh, Billu bt Joginder Singh, Ali of Bani Basohli bt Sukha of Ferozapur, Sonu of Delhi bt Vicky of Akhnoor, Bobari of Jammu bt Karan of Amirtsar, Laket Ali bt Sukhdev Singh, Vikram bt Bablu, Billa bt Baboo, Murad Ali bt Nasib Singh. Bout between Ballu and Seeba; Prem Verna of Jhiri and Onkar Singh of Amritsar ended in a draw.

No comments: