Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 6, 2013

KUSHTI CALENDAR: 15th Annual Chhourta Kesari dangal on Apr 10

JAMMU, Apr 3: 15th annual Chhourta Kesari Dangal will be organised ` at Chhourta in Dansal on April 10.
The decision for organizing the said Dangal at Chhourta was taken in a meeting held at Katra under the chairmanship of Shiv Kumar Sharma President J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
The members who attended the meeting were Sham Lal Sharma, Subash Chander Sharma, Sunder Singh, Surinder Sharma, Romesh Chander, Prittam Singh and Swarn Singh, Mohinder Paul Bhagat and Badri Singh.
Shiv Kumar Sharma who is also Treasure Indian Style Wrestling Association of India and Member J&K State Sports Council said a note able feature of this Dangal is that bring conducted regularly at Chhourta for Last 15 years. Sharma said it is decided in the meeting to honour the best wrestler of the Dangal with “15th Chhourta Kesari 2013” title, he would be awarded with traditional Patta along with handsome cash prize. Mr. Sharma said the Dangal is organized on traditional “Mud Akhara” and the decision of the referee in every bout will be final.
Sharma said all the Wrestlers who come over their will get chance to participate may be they are local or outsiders. All the Wrestlers will get both sides bus fare in addition to handsome cash prize. Sharma said Vetern wrestlers, Ustad and technical officials will also be honoured. He said holding of such events in the State were send a message of Love, peace, brotherhood to entire country.
Sarpanch Balwan Singh, Rajinder Kumar, Mohd. Fareed, Sham Lal Sharma, Subash Chander Sharma, Romesh Chander, Hukam Chand, Thakur Dass, Sunder Singh and Pritam Singh were appointed as technical officials for the smooth conduct of Vishal Dangal.
Sharma while giving the details of the Dangal said about 45 wrestlers from within and outside the state are coming to take part in the Dangal. J&K wrestlers from Jammu, Kathua, Doda, Udhampur, Roun-Domail, Ramnagar, Panchari, Moungri, Jindrah, Reasi, Akhnoor, Dansal, BSF, JKP and CRPF have confirmed their entries while outside the State Wrestlers from Amritsar, Jalandhar, Ludhiana, Dera Baba Nanak are likely to participate in this dangal.
MLA Nagrota Jugal Kishore Sharma shall be the chief guest and Member J&K State Sports Council Shiv Kumar Sharma will presided over the function.
Meanwhile, the interested wrestlers of Jammu region or outside the State can still submit their entries for participate to Shiv Kumar Sharma (94191 61880).

No comments: