Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 16, 2013

Wrestler Sukha of Rajasthan lifts Moori Kesari dangal

The Northlines
JAMMU, April 15: Pahelwan Sukha of Rajasthan lifted the 58th Annual Moori Kesari dangal title outplaying Ranjeet of Ludhiana in Punjab in a tough bout that took place at Middle School Moori in district Reasi.
Dangal was organized by Moori Peer Baba Dangal Committee in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) state general secretary and senior vice president Hotel and Restaurant Association of Katra, Rakesh Wazir was chief guest who gave away prizes to the winners and runners-up of main bouts.
President, J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided over the function. Retired SP and treasurer of the Association, PR Sharma and senior vice president District Reasi Indian Style Wrestling Association, Pappu Lakri were guests of honour.
Winner of the main bout, Sukha was awarded a cash prize of Rs 9,000 while Ranjeet got Rs 6000. In all, 41 bouts were played in the dangal. The second main bout won by Benia of J&K Police, who beat Sukha of Rajasthan. Both these wrestlers were given away Rs 9,000 and Rs 6,000 cash prize respectively. In third main bout Kala of Phagwara defeated Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal Jammu.
Moori Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped for conduct of this Dangal were Badri Nath, Sarpanch Romesh Chander, Om Parkash, Mohan Singh, Sukhdev Sharma, Bodh Raj, Parshotam Sharma, Birbal Sharma, Chunilal, Rajinder Kumar, Vijay Kumar (Viju), PR Sharma, Mohd. Fareed, Raj Singh, Pappu Lakri and Ustad Kirshan Lal Sharma.

Other Results: Devinder of Domana beat Arjun of Amritsar; Ajeeta of Amritsar beat Sadiq of Domana; Shotu of domana beat JP of Udhampur; Akram of Jammu beat Gur Dayal of Ludhiana; Manni of Mallerkotla beat Asif of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu; Tariq of Doda beat Kuldeep Singh of Roun-Domail; Devinder of Domana beat Parveez of Mallerkotla; Munish of Amritsar beat Sajjan Ali (Balli) of Domana; Bobari of Sarore beat Gurdeep of Rajasthan; Pritam Singh beat Asif of Mallerkotla; Murad Ali of Domana beat Gopi of Amritsar; Rohit of Amritsar beat Devinder of Domana and Mohd. Akram of Jammu beat Arjun of Amritsar.

No comments: