Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Oct 12, 2010


JAMMU, October 11: Holy town of Katra is all set to host the 6th edition of Mission Dosti Rustam-e-Indo-Pak Wrestling competition on October14 at Vivekanand Sports Stadium in district Reasi.
Part of the ongoing 15th Navratra Festival, wrestling meet shall take place on seventh Navratra under the banner of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association. This sports event is also supported by Shri Mata Vaishno Devi Shrine Board, J&K Tourism Department, Navratra Festival Committee, Katra Municipal Committee and district administration as also the locals.
This was disclosed by president of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma. “Besides a 10-member Pakistani team, which shall reach Katra on October 13, a host of reputed international and national wrestlers from Maharashtra, Delhi, Harayana, Punjab, Himachal, UP and Chandigarh as also Railways, BSF and J&K Police have already confirmed their participation in the historic competition,” said Shiv Kumar.
The inauguration function of the competition shall be held at Vivekanand Sports Stadium at 1 pm, while the concluding of the same shall be take place at 6 pm. Over 40 individuals, including 20 officials, have been assigned the task of smooth conduct of the competition.
“Winner of this historical wrestling event will get cash reward of Rs 51,000 in addition to traditional `Silver Gurj and Patta,” disclosed Sharma.
To give it a festive look, the organizers have arranged showering of flower petals through Helicopter during wrestling competition at around 5 pm at the venue. Before the start of the competition, top wrestlers from India and Pakistan would be taken around the main bazaar of Katra to accord grand reception and to seek blessings of the locals.
The participating Pakistani wrestlers are Abdul Majeed, Yousaf Riazm Maroof, Muhammad Shafiq, Muhammad Bashir (Bhola), Safdar Ali, Israr Hussain Awan, Khawaja Muhammad Falahud-Din, Muhammad Umair and Bilal Hussain.

No comments: