Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 17, 2011

Police Wrestler Benia Bags Jandrah Kesari Title


JAMMU, April 16: Gold winner in the recently held All India Police Sports (Wrestling Cluster) meet at Jammu, Benia of Jammu and Kashmir Police clinched the 103rd Annual Jandrah Kesari dangal title beating equally good Navdeep of Khanna in Punjab in the main bout played at Jandrah in district Jammu.

In this day-long dangal, president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma was chief guest, who gave away Rs 5000 cash prize to Benia and Rs 4,000 to runners-up, Navdeep. Senior manager of J&K Bank, Parsotam Singh, Headmaster Ranjeet Singh, Sub-Inspector, Sat Paul and chairman Jai Jawan Jai Kishan Development Committee were guests of honour.
Part of Baisakhi festival, dangal was organised by Jandrah Dangal Committee under the aegis of Indian Style Wrestling Association.

About 40 bouts were decided in this dangal. The second main bout was won by Kamaljot (Billa) of Khanna, who beat Raju of Kapurthalla in Punjab while Parveen, a Junior National medalist, beat Bobari of Shiv Mandir Akhara Jammu for the third bout.
Fourth main bout was won by Pawan Deep of Khanna beating Daller Khan of Jammu.
Other Results: Gopal beat Vajay; Kaka beat Balvir; Gurdev Singh beat Vijay; Kuldeep of Ramnagar beat Krishan of Haryana; Shesha of BSF beat Dheera of Kapoorthala; Pritam Singh beat Vijay; Chaiya of Ramnagar beat Akshay of Jammu; Rashid beat Liqiat Ali; Sunny beat Bir Singh; Billa beat Ravi; Thirthu of Manwal beat Vijay of Haryana; Nasib of Delhi beat Rajesh of J&K Police of Jindrah; Babbu beat Krishan; Kuldeep Singh of Bhamag beat Kuldeep Singh of Ramnagar; Jakker beat Balbir; bouts between Tej Singh of Reasi and Bunty of Jammu ended in a draw.

Jindrah Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were ex Sarpanch Kishori Lal Sharma, Som Raj, Rahjinder Singh, Jagdish Raj, Rameshwer Singh, Mohan Lal, Madan Lal, Mohd Fazzi, Laaja Ram, Krishan Dutt, Karan Dutt, Raj Singh, Vijay Singh (Bijju), Allalh Mai (Ranga) and Balwan Singh.

No comments: