Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 23, 2011

Wrestler Hernek Lifts Jhajjar Kotli Dangal

State Times

JAMMU: Wrestler Hernek Singh (Neki) of Gurdasspur in Punjab lifted the 80th Annual Jhajjar Kotli Kesari Dangal title beating Sukha of Rajasthan in the main bout played at Jhajjar Kotli in district Jammu.
In this day long Dangal, President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma was the Chief Guest, who gave away Rs. 6,000 cash prize to wrestler Neki along with traditional Sliver Gurj and Patta and Rs 5,000 to runners-up wrestler, Sukha. Chairman J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Prem Choudhary presided over the function. SHO Jhajjar Kotli YP Jamwal was Guest of Honour.
Dangal was organised by Jhajar Kotli Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling under the overall supervision of Shiv Kumar Sharma and Prem Choudhary.
About 42 bouts were decided in this Dangal. The second main bout was won by Kamaljot (Billa) of Khanna, who beat Sagar of Delhi while third bout went to Raju of Kapurthalla beating Devinder of Doomcharri in Punjab.
Other Results: Kuldeep Singh beat Akram, Gurdev Singh beat Kaka, Raju beat Manjoor, Billu beat Kuldeep, Baggha beat Vijay, Asif beat Kuldeep Singh, Amir Khan beat Managha, Jamet Ali beat Sunny, Ali beat Billa, Nabab of Delhi beat Krishan Billa of Amritsar, Vijay of Haryana beat Babu of Kathua, Asif of Jammu beat Krishan of Delhi, Kaka beat Yaswant Rai, Pawan Deep of Khanna beat Gopi of Amritsar, Ajeeta of Amritsar beat Qadir of Taran Taran, bout between Jakker V/s Rakha ended in a draw.
Jhajjar Kotli Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this Dangal were Swarn Singh Chark, Durga Dass Thappa, Puran Chand Baru, Kaka Ram, Bishan Dass, Satish Kumar, Neelam Kumar Baru, Rajnder Singh, Bashir Mohd Malik, Khan Mir, Ajit Shamra Tara Mani, Madan Mohan Dubey, Tarsaim Singh, Yash Paul, Ashok Kumar, Hussain Mohammad, Sansar Singh, Raj Singh, Balwan Singh, Allah Mai (Ranga) and Pappu Lakri of Katra.

No comments: