Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 21, 2012

Benia lifts Katra Kundrorian Kesari dangal

J&K Newspoint Bureau

Promising wrestler of Jammu and Kashmir Police, Benia today lifted the 30th Katra Kundrorian Kesari dangal title outplaying Dilshad of Mallerkotla in Punjab at Shri Hanuman Akhara Kundrorian in holy town of Katra in district Reasi. In all, 51 bouts played in this day-long dangal.

The second main bout was won by Som Bir of Bahadurgarh (Harayana) beating wrestler Mohd. Gaffar of Mallerkotla while third main bout was won by Sagar of Delhi after he defeated Imran of Mallerkotla. Senior vice-president of Hotel and Restaurant Association of Katra, Rakesh Wazir was chief guest in the main bouts, who gave away cash prizes to winners and runners-up wrestlers.

President of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided. Prominent among others present were sarpanch Karnail Singh, onkar Singh, Pt Jdgdish Kumar and Pappu Lakri. Dangal was organized by Kundrorian Dangal Committee under the aegis of J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association.

Other Results:- Sukha of Rajasthan beat Raju Kapurthalla, Kaka of Namasher beat Amjad Ali of Mallerkotla, Mukha of BSF of Dinanagar beat Manna of Rajasthan, Dana of Ajnala beat Bobari of Jammu, Kalu of Jammu beat Swarn Singh of Kot Bhawal Jammu, Soni of Mallerkotla beat Murad Ali of Jammu, Gopal Sharma of Jindrah beat Teg Singh of Reasi, Attar Din of Jammu beat Rakesh of Gurdaspur, Bir Singh of Reasi beat Billa of Jallandar, Liakat Ali of panthal beat Hossiar Singh of Mohare, Seeba of Taran Tarn beat Karnail Singh of Reasi, Balwan Singh of Mohare beat Bagga of Kot Bhawal, Gulzar Hussain of Jammu beat Kartar Singh of Narkote, Rajbeer of Rajasthan beat Ajay Landon Pwer House, Javed of Nargada Jammu beat Puran Singh of Mohare, Amir Khan of Jammu beat Vicky of Dera Baba Nanak, Murad Ali of Jammu beat Manna of Jallandar and Mohanu of Dera Baba Nanak beat Rashid of Kathua.

No comments: