Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 21, 2012

Punjab wrestler bags Salora Kesari title

State Times

JAMMU: Wrestler Kamaljeet of Doomcherri in Punjab defeated Jagroop again of Punjab to lift 28th Salora Kesari Dangal held at Salora here. Dangal was organised by Salora Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.

PDP leader Kuldip Sharma was Chief Guest, who presented the title to Kamaljeet. President of Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided. Hardeep Singh (businessman), Noor Ali and Virender Sharma were Guests of Honour.

Winner of main title bout, Kamaljeet was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 1,5000 while Jagroop got Rs 10,000. In the second main bout, wrestler Benia of J and K Police defeated Sagar of Delhi to become richer by Rs 12,000. Runners-up in this bout got Rs 9,000 as cash award.

In another equally good bout, Palla of Himacal Pardesh defeated Abdul Majeed of Punjab to get an award of Rs 12,000.

In all, 59 bouts took place in this day-long Dangal. Other Results: Sonvir of Harayana bt Anup of Shahpur; Jagdev of Ludhiana bt Raju of Shahkat; Kalla of Phagwara bt Abdul Gaffar of Mallerkotla; Rafiq of Ludhina bt Sona of Amritsar; Kaka of Namashar bt Raju of Kapurthalla; Amjad Ali of Mallerkotla bt Ranjeet of Amritsar; Dana of Ajnala bt Soni of Mallerkotla; Murad Ali of Jammu bt Happy of Jallandar; Attar Din of Jammu bt Yaswant of Rajasthan; Nasir of Doda bt Kuldeep of Ramnagar; Bagga of Kot Bhawal bt Kuldeep of Jallandar; Sunny of Shahkot bt Vijay of Bai Bajaltha; Farooq of Jammu bt Sonu of Delhi; Suraj of Dera Baba Nanak bt Gopal Singh of Jindrah; Kaka of Amritsar bt Ranjeet of Ludhiana; Amir Khan of Nargada bt Dalbir Singh of Mahore and Joginder of Ramnagar bt Kala of Dera Baba Nanak.

Technical officials and members of Salora Dangal Committee who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were Chuni Lal Rajmotra, Rajinder Kumar Ramotra, Ashok Kumar, Om Parkash, Ajit Kumar, Surinder Kumar, Ch. Ahmed Din (Gogi), Soni Sharma, Kaka Ram Dubey, Sarpanch Bansi Lal, Mohd. Fareed, Vijay singh (Biju), P.R. Sharma, Varinder Sharma and Raj Singh.

No comments: