Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Apr 14, 2012

Kaka bags Chhourta Kesari Dangal

State Times
JAMMU: Pahalwan Kaka of Amritsar on Wednesday lifted the 14th Annual Chhourta Kesari Dangal title outplaying Sukha of Rajasthan in an easy fight for the main bout played at Chhourta in Jhajjar Kotli area of district Jammu.
Member Legislative Assembly (MLA) Nagrota, Jugal Kishore Sharma was Chief Guest who gave away prizes among the winners. President of the host Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided over the function. SHO Jhajjar Kotli, Y.S Jambal and Sarpanch Chhourta, Angrez Singh were Guests of Honour.
This Dangal was organised by Chhourta Dangal Committee under the aegis of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
In all, 35 bouts were played in the Dangal. The second main bout between wrestler Kalu of Jammu and Ranjeet of Amritsar ended in draw resulting into both of them awarded equal Rs 6,000 as prize money.
The third main bout again ended in a draw with both wrestlers, Kulbir Singh Kot Bhawal Jammu and Malkeith of Amritsar awarded Rs 6,000 each . The bout was won by Onkar Singh of BSF (Kashmir) beating Swarn Singh of Kot Bhawal in Jammu.
Other Results: Murad Ali of Jammu beat Bachi of Amritsar; Akram of Jammu beat Raj Beer of Sirsa; Attar Deen of Jammu beat Hardeep of Rajasthan; Subash of Chopra Shop beat Bir Singh of Reasi; Asaf of Jammu beat Manna of Rajasthan; Mohammad Akram of Jammu beat Kuldeep Singh of Laddha; Asaf of Jammu beat Daleep Singh of Mahor. Bouts between Kirpal Singh of Kalakot (Rajouri) and Liaquat Ali of Panthal (Katra) ended in a draw.
Chhourta Dangal Committee members and technical officials who helped in successful conduct of dangal were Sham Lal Sharma, Subhash Chander Sharma, Sunder Singh, Surinder Sharma, Dr. Manohar Lal, Romesh Chander, Pritam Singh, Swarn Singh, Mohinder Paul Bhagat, Badri Singh, Hukam Chand, Balwan Singh, Mohammad Fareed, Rajinder Kumar, Raj Singh and Romesh Chander.

No comments: