Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 24, 2012

Another title for JKP wrestler Benia

State Times

JAMMU: Wrestler Benia of J and K Police clinched yet another title after he defeated Amit of Chandigarh Police for the main bout in 24th Annual Majalta Kesari Dangal which was organised by Majalta Dangal Committee in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Majalta.

Winner of the main bout, Benia presented a cash prize of Rs 12,000 while Amit was given away Rs 9,000 by Chief Guest, President of J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma.
Second main bout went to wrestler Sagar of Sat Paul Akhara Delhi. He defeated Deepak of Chandigarh. In third bout, Yodha of Attari in Punjab bagged third bout beating Jaswant of Rajasthan while Johny of Punjab secured fourth bout outplaying Kuljeet of Sirsa in Haryana.

Prominent among those present were District Horticulture Officer, Virender Kumar Sharma, BMO, Som Dutt, SHO Kuldeep Khajuria, Ashok Kumar and Sarpanch Phader Raj Kumar as also Dharm Singh (Bittu), Om Parkash, Rajesh Sharma, Hans Raj, Karnail Singh, Gouri Singh and Balwan Singh.
Members of Organising Committee and those Technical Officials who helped in successful conduct of this Dangal were Simar Dev Singh (President), Tara Mani, Lochan Singh, Kuldeep Singh, Prem Nath Sharma, Onkar Singh, Davinder Kumar Sharma, Yudhvir Singh, Madan Singh, Madan Lal Sharma, Onkar Singh BSF, Vijay Singh (Biju) and Om Parkash Verma.

In all, 35 bouts took place during the day-long Dangal.

Other Results: Kaka of Dinanagar beat Anayat of Manwal, Karnail Singh of Reasi defeated Makhan Singh of Kathua, Arun of Kathua beat Asif of Dansal, Kaldip Singh of Ramnagar trounced Joginder of UP, Diwan Singh of Mohare beat Sada Nand of Chandigarh, Babu of Attri defeated Attar Din of Kathua, Rajesh of Sonipat outplayed Hossiar Singh of Reasi, Mukha of Dinanagar of BSF beat Parveen of Amritsar, Ballu of Dera Baba Nanak trounced Romesh of Banras, Sheesha of BSF beat Raju of Jallandhar, Tirthu of Manwal defeated Asif of Dansal, Anu of Kathua beat Jaideep of Rohtak, Umesh of Madhuban (Haryana) beat Kaka of Delhi. Bouts between Lucky of Punjab and Tirthu of Udhampur and Billu (Jakker) of Jindrah and Awan of Maharartha ended in a draw.

No comments: