Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 24, 2012

Haryana wrestler Soffian wins Katra Nelay Dangal

State Times
JAMMU: Belonging to Panipat in Haryana, Soffian bagged the 10th Katra Nelay
Kesari Dangal after he defeated Anoop (Sirsa) of the same State in the main bout that lasted for 16 minutes at Searly in Holy Town of Katra of district Reasi.
Winner Soffian was presented a cash prize of Rs 5,000 by Superintendent of Police, Mohan Lal, who was accompanied by President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Kuldeep Kumar Sanmotra.
This Dangal was organised by Dangal Committee Nelay in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
In the second main bout, Raju of Sirsa in Haryana beat Yasheen of Alamgir in Punjab while Kalu of Bishnah beat Murad Ali of Mallerkotla for the third bout. The fourth bout went to Asaf of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu after he defeated Bobari of Jammu.
Members and Technical Committee, who helped in successful conduct of Dangal included Kuldeep Kumar Sanmotra (President), Romesh Chander (Bobby), Varun Kumar Sanmotra, Sunil Dogra, Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), Mohd. Fareed, Capt. (Retd.) Lehar Singh, Mungi Baba and Subedar (Retd.) Kulbinder Singh.
Other Results: Liaqat Ali of Panthal defeated Balwan Singh of Mahore, Murad Ali of Domana defeated Bittu of Guru Hanuman Akhara Delhi, Suneet Singh of Kalakote (Rajouri) defeated Arsad Ali of Mallerkotla, Imran of Mallerkotla defeated Kuldeep Singh of Bamhag, Balwan Singh of Mahore defeated Kallu of Panipat, Romesh of Panipat defeated Asaf of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu, Farooq of Bishnah defeated Romesh of Panipat, Sunny of Damana defeated Abdul Rashid of Mallerkotla, Hossiar Singh of Mahore defeated Mohanu of Rajasthan, Liaqat Ali of Panthal defeated Titu of Rajasthan, Sunny of Haryana defeated Karnail Singh of Reasi, Sanjay of Harayana defeated Pritam Singh of Mahore, Billa of Bajrangi Akhara Jammu defeated Parveen of Delhi, Maan Hussian of Bishnah defeated Vicky of Rajasthan, Abdual Guffar of Budhal defeated Soni of Sool, Liaqat Ali of Angi defeated Bal Krishan of Butan, Shamsher Singh of Narkote Defeated Raju of Jindrah and Nanak Chand of Mohore defeated Jakker (Billu) of Jindrah.

No comments: