Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 30, 2012

Wrestler Soffian of Haryana bags Kanjli Dangal title

State Times
JAMMU: Soffian of Panipat in Haryana clinched the 52nd Annual Kanjali Kesari Dangal title outplaying Raju of Sirsa in the main bout. Dangal was organised by Kanjali Dangal Committee in collaboration with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association
Winner, Soffian was awarded with a cash prize of Rs 6,000 while runners-up, Raju received Rs 4,000 as prize money from Chief Guest, Secretary General of Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, Roshan Lal.
President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma presided over the function. Yash Paul Bakshi and Naresh Kumar (Papu Lakri) were Guests of Honour. Sarpanchs Raj Kumar Sharma, Karnail Singh, Sham Lal Sharma, Ram Parkash, Maheshwar Singh, Bittu Ram Bali and Bodh Raj were also present.
In all, 37 bouts were decided in this day-long event. The second main bout went to wrestler Tinku of Rohtak in Haryana, who beat Kalu of Bishnah in Jammu. In the third main bout, Bobari of Sarore downed wrestler Muneer of Mallerkotla in Punjab while Murad Ali of Domana in Jammu emerged winner in fourth bout beating Romesh of Panipat. In the fifth bout, Amir Khan of Nargada registered win over Liakat Ali of Panthal and sixth bout was won by Romesh of Panipat outplaying Farooq of Sarore in Jammu.
Members of Organising Committee and those Technical Officials who helped in smooth conduct of Dangal were Surinder Kumar (President), Prabh Dayal, Bishan Dass, Ram Singh, Sharif Gordwar, Suraj Din, Laxman Dass, Surinder Kumar Panch, Ratten Singh, Mohd. Sadiq Naib Sarpanch, Ch. Manjoor Hossain, Mohd. Fareed. Bittu Raina, Lal Singh, Murli Dar (Munna Mistary). Other Results: Anwar of Nargada beat Kartar Singh of Narkota, Jamat Ali of Jati defeated Vijay of Kanjli , Balii of Jammu beat Gora of Harayana, Kartar Singh of Narkote Reasi defeated Parveen of Rothak, Murad Ali of Nargada beat Sanjay of Sirsa, Pritam Singh of Reasi beat Illyas of Mallerkotla, Kartar Singh of Narkote defeated Roshan Lal of Pargal, Pritam Singh of Mahore beat Balli of Jammu and Laikat Ali of Panthal defeated Illays of Mallerkotla.

No comments: