Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 2, 2012

Benia of J&K Police Wins Bani Kesari Title

early times report
Top Jammu and Kashmir Police wrestler, Benia of Basantgarh in Udhampur lifted the 108th edition of Annual Bansi Kesari dangal, organized by Menwal Dangal Committee in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Menwal in district Udhampur. In the main bout Benia defeated Param Veer of Malikpur in Punjab to bag a whopping cash prize of Rs 15,000 in addition to traditional "Silver Gurj (Gadda and Patta) from chief guest, Additional SP Udhampur, Binam To He was accompanied by president, J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma and Yash Paul Singh. Runners-up wrestler, Paramveer awarded a cash prize Rs 10,000.

Prominent among those present were PR Sharma, Nand Kishore Sharma, Virender Sharma, Sunil Badiyal and SHO Manwal, Kuldip Khaj-uria as also Balwant Raj Bishan Dass, Ashok Kumar and Panora Rajesh Kumar. In all, 51 bouts were played in this day-long dangal. The second main bout played between, Gani of Mallerkotla and wrestler Sagar of Delhi which ended in a draw. Both these wrestlers shared Rs 21,000 between them. The third bout went to Kamaljot of Khanna who defeated Abdullah Gaffar of Mallerkotla while Vikas, again of Khanna won the fourth bout outplaying wrestler Palla of Himachal Pradesh.

Members of organizing committee and those technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal were Yash Paul Singh, Balwant Raj, Makhan Lal, Sagar Singh, Hem Raj Gupta, Krishan Lal Gupta, Karnail Singh, Sanju Sharma, Bishan Dass, Vijay Singh (Biju), Virender Sharma, PR Sharma, Om Parkash Verma, Mohd. Fareed and Capt. Lehar Singh (Retd).

Other Results: Tag Ali of Mallerkotla bt Kallu of Jammu; Vikas of HP bt Jatinder of Delhi; Hardip of HP bt Bobari of Jammu; Roshan Lal of Muthi Jammu bt Jobra of Rajasthan; Parveen of Khanna bt Amjod Ali of Mallerkotla; Jagga of Amritsar bt Atter Din of Jammu; Ravinder of Harayana bt Ali of Jammu; Farooq of Jammu bt Parvesh of Mallerkotla; Liakat Ali of Mallerkotla bt Billu of Jammu; Amir Khan of Nargota Jammu bt Ajay of Pwer House; Dinesh of Banars bt Kuldeep of Ramnagar; Murod Ali of Jammu bt Jittu of UP; Chinni of Banars bt Akram of Jammu; Mammi of Mallerkotla bt Sonu of Jammu; Sahib of Mallerkotla bt Kuldeep Singh of Bambag; Pappu of Ram-nagar bt Rakesh of Kathua; Bittu of Delhi bt Vijay of Chenani; Kaka of Jindrah bt Ali of Kathua; Liakat Ali of Panthal bt Kala of Banars and Akram of Jammu beat Jagvir of Delhi.

Meanwhile, Shiv Kumar Sharma complimented the Menwal Dangal Committee for their love for the game of wrestling. He exhorted upon the youth to practice wrestling as the game requires little infrastructure and helps one maintain mental and physical health.

No comments: