Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 30, 2012

Punjab Wrestler Yasheen wins Sirla Bhaga Dangal

State Times

REASI: Yasheen of Alamgir in Punjab clinched the Sirla Bhaga Kesari Dangal title outplaying Soffian of Panipat in Haryana in the main bout played at Government High School Sirla Bhaga in district Reasi. Dangal was organised by Sirla Bhaga Dangal Committee in collaboration with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
While Yasheen was given away a cash prize of Rs 6,000, runners-up, Soffian got Rs 4,000 from Chief Guest, President of the Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma. Sarpanch Raj Kumar Sharma and Sarpanch Karnail Singh were Guests of Honour.
In all, 45 bouts were played wherein local wrestlers, besides wrestlers from Punjab, Harayana, Delhi, Rajasthan and J and K Participated. An amount of Rs. 75,000 incurred on the conduct of this day-long event.
The second main bout between Romesh of Panipat and Murad Ali of Domana in Jammu ended in a draw resulting into both the wresters shared a cash prize of Rs 6,000 each. Third main bout went to Nawaj Ali of Mallerkotla who defeated Pritam Singh of Mahore Reasi.
Technical Committee members who helped for conduct of the event were Sarpanch Chain Singh (President), Advocate Padam Dev Singh (Chairman), Munshi Singh, Nasib Singh, Gulair Singh, Master Ram Krishan (Retd.), Noor Alam, Vakil Singh, Numberdar Romesh Chander, Kunj Lal Teacher, Barhat Ali, Vijay Kumar, Capt. (Retd.) Lehar Singh, Mohd. Fareed, Bittu Raina, Ajay Kumar Magotra, and Murli Dhar (Munna Mistry).
Other Results: Teg Singh of Pansa Reasi defeated Naiz of Mallerkotla, Laikat Ali of Panthal beat Imran of Mallerkotla, Karnail Singh of Narkote beat Abdul Rashid of Mallerkotla, Kallu of Panipat defeated Hossiar Singh of Mahore, Teg Singh of Pansa Reasi beat Suneet Singh of Kalakote (Rajouri), Muneer of Mallerkotla beat Balwan Singh of Mahore and Kartar Singh of Narkote defeated Parveen of Punjab.

No comments: