Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 24, 2012

JKP wrestler Benia bags Kundra Kesari title

State Times

REASI : Top wrester of Jammu and Kashmir Police, Benia clinched the Sixth Annual Kundra Kesari Dangal, organised by Kundra Dangal Committee in association with J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association at Dev Sathan of village Kundra in district Reasi.
In the main bout, Benia defeated Parveen of Haryana to fetch a cash prize of Rs 15,000. Runners-up, Parveen got Rs 10,000 from Chief Guest, Shiv Kumar Sharma, President J and K Indian Style Wrestling Association.
Working President District Reasi Indian Style Wrestling Association, Naresh Kumar presided over the function while Sarpanch Kundra Bodh Raj, Sarpanch Kun-Dorinu Katra Karnail Singh and Advocate Padam Dev Singh were Guests of Honour.
Sarpanchs Sham Lal, Kesari Singh, Shamsher Singh, Shakti Paul Singh, Master Gani, Master Balbir Singh, Master Ali Akbar, Subash Chander and Panch Sansar Chand were among those present.
The second main bout went to wrestler Murad Ali of Jammu, who defeated Wrestler Nawaj Ali of Mallerkotla in Punjab while Sonu of Jhajjar in Haryana beat Imran of Mallerkotla for the third bout. In fourth bout, Balwan Singh of Mahore outplayed Amir Khan of Nargada. In all, 38 bouts took place in this Dangal.
Member of Technical Committee and those other officials who helped in smooth conduct of Dangal were Sarpanch Bodh Raj, Shakti Paul Singh, Makhan Singh, Sudesh, Baldev Raj, Kaka Ram, Yash Paul, Ravi Kumar, Ram Singh, Gul Mohd. Sansar Chand Panch, Bodh Raj, Papu Lakri, Mohd Freed, Master Ram Krishan (Retd.), Capt (Retd.) Lehar Singh, Bittu Raina, Master Balbir Singh, Master Ali Akbar, Som Raj, Subash Chander Sharma and Manjoor Hussain.
Other Results: Liaqat Ali of Panthal beat Bir Singh of J and K Police of Reasi, Arshad Ali of Mallarkotla defeated Liaqat Ali of Panthal, Suneet Singh of Kalakote (Rajouri) beat Billu of Jammu, Amir Khan of Nargoda beat Hossiar Singh of Mahoer, Tej Singh of Panasa (Reasi) defeated Prem Verma of Jhiri, Pritam Singh of Mahore (Reasi) beat Kaka of Nargoda, Dillar Khan of Chinka beat Abdul Rashid of Mallarkotla, Murad Ali of Nargoda defeated Vir Singh of Reasi, Dalip Singh of Narkote beat Shokat Ali of Nargoda, Bharat Bushan of Dumana defeated Bittu of Nargoda and Hyder Ali of Nargoda beat Vijay Singh of Kanjali.

No comments: