Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 15, 2014

Ajay of Udhampur wins Sarna Kesari dangal

Greater Kashmir

Jammu, June 9: Ajay Sharma of Landen Power House Udhampur lifted the 4th Annual Sarna Kesari Dangal, organized by Sarna Dangal Committee in collaboration with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, at Sarna near Katra in district Reasi
In the main bout, Ajay defeated Kulbir Singh of Kot Bhawal to receive a cash prize of Rs 3,000 from chief guest, president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma. Runners-up, Kulbir presented with Rs 2,000 prize by Naib Sarpanch, Som Raj and Numberdar, Rattan Singh.
Sarpanch Onkar Singh presided over the function while Ganesh Singh and Ashok Kumar were among those prominent present.
In all, 41 bouts took place in this dangal. The second main bout went to Babba of Kot Bhawal, who beat Balwan Singh of Mahore. In third bout, Gopal Sharma of Jindrah emerged winner beating Murad Ali of Domana while Swarn Singh of Kot Bhawal won the fourth bout outplaying Liakat Ali of Panthal.
Bouts officiated by Bishamber Dass, Angraj Singh, Murli Dhar (Munna), Abdul Rehman Panch and Tara Chand.
Members who helped in the conduct of this dangal included Sarpanch Onkar Singh, Naib Sarpanch Som Raj, Falail Singh, Sat Paul, Des Raj, Numberdar Rattan Singh, Om Parkash, Vijay Kumar and Sohan Lal.
Other Results: Jamat Ali of Jatti Nagrota bt Sunil of Kathua, Chand of Harayana bt Subash of Chopra Shop Udhampur, Manjoor (Raju) of Nargada bt Shotu of Kathua, Munner of Domana bt Billa of Kot Bhawal, Anil of Jammu bt Wazir of Udhampur, Dalip Singh of Mahore bt Ravinder Fouji of Harayana, Liakat Ali of Panthal bt Billu of Kot Bhawal, Sujjan Ali of Domana bt Darshan of Sorore and Dillar Singh of Reasi bt Vir Bahadur of Ramban.

No comments: