Contributions Welcome

This blog belongs to everyone interested in preserving and promoting traditional Indian wrestling. Please feel free to contribute photos, videos, links to news articles or your own blog posts. E-mail contributions to

Jun 29, 2014

Benia of J&K Police lifts Jagti kushti dangal title

Greater Kashmir

ammu, June 21: Benia of J&K Police lifted the108th Annual Saya Jagti Kesari dangal title defeating wrestler Sunny of Hoshiarpur in Punjab in the main bout at Saya Jagti near Nagrota, here.
Dangal was organized by Peer Baba Saya Jagti Dangal Committee in support with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and supervised by president of the Association, Shiv Kumar Sharma, chairman of dangal committee, Abdul Rashid Malik and Parveen Singh.
Winner Benia has awarded with a cash prize of Rs 20,000 by chief guest, senior PDP leader, Choudhary Showkat Ali and Shiv Kumar Sharma. Runners-up Sunny received Rs 16,000 from state secretary of BSP, Rakesh Wazir and former MLA Sukh Dev Singh.
In all, 38 bouts decided in this day-long dangal. The second main bout went to Pardeep of Patiala in Punjab, who beat Kamaljot of Khanna. Third bout between Rinku of Patiala and Lalli of Garh Shanker of Punjab ended in a draw. In fourth main bout, Major of Ludhiana defeated Asaf of Bajarangi Akhara in Jammu.
Members and technical officials who helped in smooth conduct of this dangal included Romesh Singh, Kurshid Ahmed, Shayal Singh, Sardar Singh, Gulam Ali, Rafiq Ahmed, Mir Singh, Kulwant Singh, Allah Mai (Ranga) Mohd. Fareed, Murli Dhar (Munna), PR Sharma, Raj Singh, Raj Hussain, and Manjoor Ahmed.
Other Results: Billu of Kot Bhalwal beat Mustaq of Khanna, Buta of Garh Shanker beat Mohd. Sadiq of Domana Akhara, Nissar Ahmed of Doda beat Sukha of Garh Shanker, Lallu of Jammu beat Vijay of Bai- Bajalta, Amir Khan of Nargada beat Tolla of Maller Kotla, Akram of Jammu beat Lovely of Hoshiarpur,, Murad Ali of Domana beat Sukha of Patiala, Gurjeet of Patiala beat Javed Khan Nargada, Rajat of Haryana beat Ravi of Domana, Sonu Fouji of Amritsar beat Deepu of Domana and Prem Verma of Jhiri beat Prahlad Singh of Kalakote.

No comments: